HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jan 28, 2004, 01:51 PM
Around the World
Scottsville, KY
Joined Jun 2002
5,641 Posts
Yippee!
I'm feeling Chippy...and I can't hide it any longer!

Ok, here's the deal.

I love, and let me say that again, LOVE the super Chipmunk flown by Art Scholl's. It was my first control line plane that I was ever able to fly as a kid and I've never seen a better looking plane. I even have a Carl Goldberg model of this plane, but I don't fly glow that much. I wish someone had a chipmunk for parkflyers.

Wait a minute, I've always wanted to design a plane, have extensive AutoCAD experience, 3-views from Bob's Documentation...why don't I, oops we, design one....

Okay, here's the deal.

I'm starting to work on plans for a parkflyer chipmunk. I've already got a good start on getting the view digitized into my CAD package to begin work. However, I've never done this before so I will be asking a lot of questions.

I know that everything should be kept under the table until the design is finished, but I don't plan on doing this to make money but rather to have fun with something I enjoy. It's not often a man can mix his work and pleasure together at the same time.

Will the plans be available? Probably. Will the plane be kitted? Possibly. Will we all have fun? Absolutely.

So get yur thoughts together and be ready to build!

Kevin Carver
cadconversions is offline Find More Posts by cadconversions
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 28, 2004, 02:01 PM
Around the World
Scottsville, KY
Joined Jun 2002
5,641 Posts
Ok, the model is a 1/10 sport scale model made famous by Art Scholl in the 80's. He was killed while filming for Top Gun in a Pitts Bi-plane.

Many of you have seen pictures and models of this plan but never in a parkflyer. We hope to change that.

The plane has a 36.5" wingspan is 29" long and will have a wing loading between 10 - 15 oz / sq ft.