HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Feb 02, 2004, 08:48 AM
CD-ROM Junkie
Art Newland's Avatar
United States, WA, Bellingham
Joined Apr 2001
13,910 Posts
I've got the shaft cut down, and removed the prop drive. I had it on there to easily be able to interchange props for testing. It has a 3x3 with the hub drilled to 7/64, for a very tight friction fit. Turning the 3x3 at 20k rpm on 2S, and nearly 27k on 3S
Art Newland is offline Find More Posts by Art Newland
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 02, 2004, 08:51 AM
CD-ROM Junkie
Art Newland's Avatar
United States, WA, Bellingham
Joined Apr 2001
13,910 Posts
Once I get the wiring all tidied up I'll weigh it on a friends accurate gram scale and we'll see how heavy it is.
Art Newland is offline Find More Posts by Art Newland
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2004, 10:25 AM
Master of the Wind
AIR MOVER's Avatar
TEXAS
Joined Jun 2001
3,044 Posts
woohoo yea Art thats going tobe awesome.. . is that a 3mm shaft? how is the prop holding up near the hub.. no stress cracks where the hub meets the prop? geez your going to fly fast..
AIR MOVER is offline Find More Posts by AIR MOVER
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2004, 10:40 AM
CD-ROM Junkie
Art Newland's Avatar
United States, WA, Bellingham
Joined Apr 2001
13,910 Posts
yes, 3mm shaft. I drilled the prop 7/64 th, then took a 3mm drill to the motor side about 1/16 th inch so it starts easily on the shaft, no cracks... so far. 8^)
Art Newland is offline Find More Posts by Art Newland
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2004, 03:13 PM
Registered User
Melbourne Australia
Joined May 2003
5,263 Posts
Drawing about 7.5amps ?....that's pushing the kokam 340's a bit, but should be doable. Short flights though. The irate 850s' should be ok.
OzzieFlyer is offline Find More Posts by OzzieFlyer
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2004, 04:48 PM
CD-ROM Junkie
Art Newland's Avatar
United States, WA, Bellingham
Joined Apr 2001
13,910 Posts
I've got irate 1100's
Art Newland is offline Find More Posts by Art Newland
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2004, 06:01 PM
Master of the Wind
AIR MOVER's Avatar
TEXAS
Joined Jun 2001
3,044 Posts
I have some 850mah Irates 1.3oz for 2cell pack.. which are plenty light for the 20 mono so im sure there light enough for the 15.5 mono..with the cd rom motor mod.. Im going for lower amps with a 3X1.2prop and the 3030gws prop.. where did you find 1100 iRate cells? what are they about 1.8oz for a 2cell pack..I would say your going tobe ok since your useing a hot motor you dont need alot of wing to go fast but that is for sure the max limit for this wing..or your landings are going tobe very hot . The 2.8oz stock plane with 340kokams is plenty slow for easy landings..should be intresting to see how fast we can go with this plane.. I really enjoy the stock setup .. it feeds my need for speed in a micro size plane.. the cdrom motor is going tobe breath taking for sure.. I will first try the 340s and a 3X1,2 and see how the amps fair in the air.. then move to my limit with 850mah cells. with the 3X3 prop
AIR MOVER is offline Find More Posts by AIR MOVER
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2004, 09:38 PM
CD-ROM Junkie
Art Newland's Avatar
United States, WA, Bellingham
Joined Apr 2001
13,910 Posts
more like 1.6 oz with a JST connector. I bought mine from;
http://www.unipros.com/cbpsite/custo...ssion_id=97523
They have a 10C with 15C burst rate, could do 11 amps continuous!
Art Newland is offline Find More Posts by Art Newland
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2004, 10:30 PM
Master of the Wind
AIR MOVER's Avatar
TEXAS
Joined Jun 2001
3,044 Posts
awesome ! very very good .. gonna have to get some of those puppies for the 20 mono // I see this site rates them higer then the site I bought from 8C is what the site had said .. however your source claims 10C for races.. hummmmmmm wonder how long they can handle 10C..
AIR MOVER is offline Find More Posts by AIR MOVER
Last edited by AIR MOVER; Feb 02, 2004 at 10:41 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 04, 2004, 01:47 PM
Registered User
kushal_22's Avatar
Kamloops
Joined Dec 2001
6,844 Posts
Sounds like everything is on schedual. I really like these CDrom motors.

Mal
kushal_22 is offline Find More Posts by kushal_22
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 04, 2004, 01:51 PM
Registered User
kushal_22's Avatar
Kamloops
Joined Dec 2001
6,844 Posts
Hey Guy`s

Will the 700 Etech be fine with the CDrom setup or is it just too much? I am pretty sure we could use these with the GWS motors and they would be fine but i am wondering about the CDroms I was thinking maybe adding Two Packs together? Making a 4s2p pack?

Mal
kushal_22 is offline Find More Posts by kushal_22
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 04, 2004, 02:05 PM
FOAMYHOLIC
spadforme's Avatar
Weatherford, Texas
Joined Jul 2003
102 Posts
it all depends on your CD rom motor. The 700's are only good for 3.5 amps 5c. you would have to wind with small wire and alot of turns.

Hey AIR MOVER when are we going to get planes. When are you going to ship. I was the first post. Just wondering.
spadforme is offline Find More Posts by spadforme
Last edited by spadforme; Feb 04, 2004 at 02:09 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 04, 2004, 02:12 PM
Registered User
kushal_22's Avatar
Kamloops
Joined Dec 2001
6,844 Posts
I think he is now working on the "Fuse`s" if you can call them that.....Patiance is a virtue.
kushal_22 is offline Find More Posts by kushal_22
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 04, 2004, 02:59 PM
Registered User
Melbourne Australia
Joined May 2003
5,263 Posts
I've found the good thing about the Windbusters is that you don't HAVE to spend up big to get good performance. I haven't got my mono yet, but on my Biplane I got great performance out of a GWS300H and an egull 180 motor. The monos you're buying are based on and edp50. 51mph for a $10 motor. Air Movers philosophy has always been performance at low cost. The cdrom motor/brushless option is something he's only done recently because they offer great performance for very little weight.

Having said that, i'll probably put a brushless on my mono
OzzieFlyer is offline Find More Posts by OzzieFlyer
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 04, 2004, 06:09 PM
Registered User
kushal_22's Avatar
Kamloops
Joined Dec 2001
6,844 Posts
OZZIE
Not only does the CDRom motor offer great performance at little weight Gain But in reality it does fit with airmovers 'Low cost" philosaphy. Where else can you get a motor with this kind of performance for what they cost?...When making them yourself. When you look at it cost versus performance these little guy`s are CHEAP.

Mal
kushal_22 is offline Find More Posts by kushal_22
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I am new to RC plane xadmin Electric Plane Talk 4 Apr 05, 2008 08:49 AM
New E Plane voyantus Foamies (Kits) 10 Jan 07, 2002 11:23 PM
looking for a new sport plane Paul Penney Parkflyers 0 Dec 25, 2001 03:45 PM
I need a new "Lazy Plane" Suggestions? mt_100 Electric Plane Talk 9 Sep 11, 2001 08:31 AM
Vote my new aerobatic plane in... kepople Electric Plane Talk 11 Jul 30, 2001 03:24 AM