Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Jun 05, 2013, 10:39 AM
United States, FL, Tampa
Joined Nov 2009
165 Posts
Discussion
What batteries do you use?

Just curious on what people are using since I am new to subs, Mainly for micro subs. Working on two right now (finishing a academy model that IS water tight, and starting a 1/350 ssbn delta class sub) and I was thinking of making a battery that is sealed with charging plug access.

I will soon post about the academy sub later when it is completely done.
asd9000 is offline Find More Posts by asd9000
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 05, 2013, 02:17 PM
Germany, NRW, Dusseldorf
Joined Sep 2012
6 Posts
I use packets of eneloop 1.2V rechargables. As these have no memory you can leave them in the boat for long period of time without capacity loss. Great and safe batteries if you don't need very high currents

Freek
FreekS is offline Find More Posts by FreekS
Old Jun 05, 2013, 08:26 PM
United States, NV, Las Vegas
Joined Aug 2011
429 Posts
I would not recommend charging a battery in a sealed compartment. There are explosive hazards in doing that. Many batteries out gas while being charged and can accumulate flammable gases.
I always leave an area open or remove my batteries (depending on type) to charge. Not that I have tried charging in a sealed container, so others can speak up, I just paid attention to advice from some sages here and other forums have offered.
tchalfant is offline Find More Posts by tchalfant
Old Jun 05, 2013, 09:31 PM
United States, FL, Tampa
Joined Nov 2009
165 Posts
I am using lipos in the academy sub but I think for my Future subs I will be using a123 bats, seems hard to find good ones and the ones hobby king has are big 25mm wide! too big for my micro/mini subs. Sure for a typhoon great but any other 1/350 scale sub its almost impossible.

Do lipos or life batteries let off gasses?
Old Jun 07, 2013, 11:29 PM
Go small or go home
Canada, SK, Regina
Joined Mar 2008
1,412 Posts
Quote: