HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Nov 29, 2001, 04:01 PM
Bradford, UK
Joined Nov 2001
24 Posts
kyosho F16 - Few Questions

Hi Guys, I'm new to electric flight and have just aquired the above model. I wondered if any of you guys could tell me how you have set this model up regards elevator/aileron throw and CofG.
Also ive been told it flys well on 8 cell 2000mAh, can any of you guys back this up.
So far the things I've noticed about this model are the near useless elevator rods that are supplied with the kit, and the practically impossible to apply decals, apart from this I am quite happy with it and looking forward to giving it its maiden flight.

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Steve
Bradford

UK
steveUK is offline Find More Posts by steveUK
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 29, 2001, 04:50 PM
St. Cloud, MN
Joined Sep 2001
21 Posts
The couple flights I've had on mine so far have been with an 8 cell 2000 pack. Flies Ok and is also my first EDF.

I used the included elvetor rods with one change, instead of using a Y harnes on both servos and bending one rod, I used a seperate rcv channel on the 8103 and mixed the channel which allowed both elevator linkages straight runs.

I have the throws and CG set as speced in the manual

Didn't have any probs with the decals, just took my time, and it WAS very time consuming.

Do a search on the forum for F16 and you will find lots of usefull info for this EDF. Sounds like the hot battery setup is 8 cell CP1700's (if I remember right). Some have also droped the 2 ail servos and did a taileron setup.
TeamSlacker is online now Find More Posts by TeamSlacker
Old Nov 29, 2001, 05:05 PM
CMFC Secretary (UK)
Swindon, UK
Joined Oct 2000
309 Posts
I've configured my completely differently - Taileron only.

I've two sets of rate dialled in -

For highspeed / general handling it is 130% of the specified throws.

For takeoff / lowspeed, I have full 90° deflection on both up and down movements.