HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Nov 28, 2001, 04:19 AM
San jose, CA
Joined Jun 2000
426 Posts
What's life in New Mexico like?

I saw a documentery a while back that happened to be filmed in New Mexico. Although I didn't really take much of an interest in the intended subject, being a paramedic, I did take great interest in what looked like a whole lot of wide open land that always appeared in the backgrond, and what at least to me looked like a pretty unique landscape. Housing's dirt cheap there too! Homes that go for $350K here in the S.F. Bay Area fetch less than half that there. Wow...I know the job market isn't exactly the best, but it looks like a blue-collar person like myself might stand a better chance of being able to buy a home there than here. As it is, the S.F. Bay Area is a great place to live if you are VERY RICH, and like to sit in traffic a lot! Any opinions?
tempest411 is offline Find More Posts by tempest411
Old Nov 28, 2001, 06:41 AM
Okemos, Michigan
Joined Feb 2001
277 Posts
Hey,

Well I haven't been to New Mexico... But if your interested in a good ratio to standard of living to house price you may want to relocate to the midwest. But be weary of where you move to, look at the number of jobs in the area.. If you think, "oh Chicago is nice place..." See what people are paying for run of the mill jobs and what the local apartments/houses are going for.. You can also do a standard of living equator found on places like monster.com. If you make $X amount in SF what would that be in someplace like Michigan? That $100k house may be really cheap to you, since its equivalent in SF is $350k.. But in X town compared to San Francisco, you get paid alot LESS.... (So it may all work out that you make the equivalent, more, or less.)

Do the homework....