HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Closed Thread
Thread Tools
Old Apr 28, 2013, 05:05 PM
Registered User
evvaldis's Avatar
Lithuania
Joined Jan 2007
179 Posts
Updated first post: new pcb version.
Changes:
AUX1 port is connected to PC3 and PC12 (it makes AUX1 port more flexible)
AUX2 port is connected to PC2 and PD2 (it makes AUX2 port more flexible)
evvaldis is offline Find More Posts by evvaldis
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 30, 2013, 03:38 AM
Registered User
evvaldis's Avatar
Lithuania
Joined Jan 2007
179 Posts
There was discussion about MOSFETs amperage.
Now I am using SI4599DY for driving motors.
P channel is driven with 0-VBat(12v if 3S used) so amperage is ~6A
N channel is driven with 0-3.3V so amperage is ~5A
I think it is enough for 99% of users.
http://www.vishay.com/docs/68971/si4599dy.pdf
evvaldis is offline Find More Posts by evvaldis
Old Apr 30, 2013, 04:00 PM
Registered User
Portland, OR, USA
Joined Mar 2010
268 Posts
I thought that a mosfet takes in one signal, and then uses that to switch another signal.

Can someone explain to me how this uses the P channel and the N channel? I'm pretty new to electronics, so I could really use a dumbed down explanation.


-Tom
Tom Frisch is offline Find More Posts by Tom Frisch
Old Apr 30, 2013, 08:00 PM
That tree again!!!!
thanhTran's Avatar
Germantown, MD, US
Joined Sep 2004
6,642 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Frisch View Post
I thought that a mosfet takes in one signal, and then uses that to switch another signal.

Can someone explain to me how this uses the P channel and the N channel? I'm pretty new to electronics, so I could really use a dumbed down explanation.


-Tom
P&N are used in a pair so that he can change the polarity of the voltage that goes to the motor coil. Two of those bridges (called H bridge, I think) you can make them work like you swap the +/- that goes to the coil. i.e to change the motor direction.

Let's look at PitchC_out for example: If PitchC is 1, and PitchCN = 0; Q9B will be closed & Q9A will be open; resulting +12v at PitchCout. If PitchC is 0, and PitchCN = 1; Q9B will be open and Q9A will be close; resulting a 0v at pitchCout.

Hope that helps
-Thanh
thanhTran is offline Find More Posts by thanhTran
Old May 02, 2013, 04:17 AM
Registered User
Joined May 2013
5 Posts
Where can I purchase this board?

Hi there,

Forgive my ignorance but are you selling these boards pre-made? If so, where can I buy them?

Or are you simply providing the layout and schematic so that we can use it to go have our own boards made locally?

I am VERY interested in a 3-axis gimbal controller but as you know they are hard to find.

Looking forward to your reply.

Kind Regards,
Devin
coolhairstyle is offline Find More Posts by coolhairstyle
Old May 03, 2013, 02:58 AM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2011
152 Posts
can you post the gerber files for itead? it would like to order a batch

Alex
edge0xc is offline Find More Posts by edge0xc
Old May 03, 2013, 06:32 AM
Registered User
evvaldis's Avatar
Lithuania
Joined Jan 2007
179 Posts
Added gerbers.

For those who wants to buy pcb's, sorry, but I don't have them at this time.
evvaldis is offline Find More Posts by evvaldis
Old May 03, 2013, 12:54 PM
Registered User
Portland, OR, USA
Joined Mar 2010
268 Posts
Ther service I want to use to make boards requires a few files that are missing in your gerber output- is it possible for you to include these files?

.GBO bottom silk screen
.GKO board Outline
.XLN Drills

Thanks!
Tom Frisch is offline Find More Posts by Tom Frisch
Old May 03, 2013, 04:08 PM
Registered User
evvaldis's Avatar
Lithuania
Joined Jan 2007
179 Posts
Added .GBO and .GKO files... But are you sure that you need .XLN file for drills? iteadstudio and few more manufacturers from Europe uses txt files for drills without any problems.

I am not sure that I can generate this file with Altium.
evvaldis is offline Find More Posts by evvaldis
Old May 03, 2013, 04:51 PM
Registered User
Portland, OR, USA
Joined Mar 2010
268 Posts
Thanks for posting those. It imports now, but the drills aren't working. I'm using oshpark.com, it's $20 for 3 boards.
I tried renaming the included text file to .XLN but that didn't help.

The service says:
"Your drill file needs to be in text "NC Drills" or "Excellon" format, generated with "2:4" precision, and with "no zero suppression".

Make sure the center of your drill hits are all inside the board outline. Anything outside of the board outline is automatically removed.

Overlapping drill hits aren't allowed.

Minimum drill size is 13 mils. Maximum is 360 mils.

Plated slots aren't supported.

I found this tutorial on exporting NC Drills files from Altium:
http://wiki.altium.com/display/ADOH/...Output+Options
Tom Frisch is offline Find More Posts by Tom Frisch
Last edited by Tom Frisch; May 03, 2013 at 05:01 PM.
Old May 03, 2013, 05:07 PM
Registered User
evvaldis's Avatar
Lithuania
Joined Jan 2007
179 Posts
Here is all drill files that Altium generates.
Maybe one of those will work for you. I think .DRL should work.
evvaldis is offline Find More Posts by evvaldis
Old May 03, 2013, 05:38 PM
Registered User
Portland, OR, USA
Joined Mar 2010
268 Posts
Hmm, still doesn't work. I opened up the files, and the text files for NonPlated and Plated seem to contain what looks like the right information... so we're close. I've emailed the files to OSH Park to ask them if they can help.

-Tom
Tom Frisch is offline Find More Posts by Tom Frisch
Old May 04, 2013, 07:13 AM
Registered User
Hochiminh City
Joined Mar 2004
557 Posts
thanks for vey impressive controller. However does you help to make the board and sell me some? it is hard job for making just single board in my place. Thanks
Caotro
caotri is offline Find More Posts by caotri
Old May 04, 2013, 12:24 PM
Registered User
evvaldis's Avatar
Lithuania
Joined Jan 2007
179 Posts
First GUI coming soon.
evvaldis is offline Find More Posts by evvaldis
Old May 04, 2013, 07:14 PM
That tree again!!!!
thanhTran's Avatar
Germantown, MD, US
Joined Sep 2004
6,642 Posts
Nice looking GUI. I want to build this too. How good it's the software you use to make the schematic and pcb? I'm used to eagle. Not sure if it can import your file. Will try soon though
thanhTran is offline Find More Posts by thanhTran
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Open Source Brushless Gimbal edge0xc Multirotor Electronics 3059 Oct 24, 2014 07:21 PM
Idea Open Source Gopro Brushless Gimbal icais Multirotor Talk 16 Mar 28, 2014 12:07 PM
Discussion SkyLight SBG - GoPro 2 Version Released (+ GP3 Beta + 3 axis Alpha) !! ed_jza80 Multirotor Talk 494 Jan 03, 2014 10:09 AM
Sold open source brushless gimbal controller jy0933 Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 57 Mar 26, 2013 07:02 PM
Sold [closed] open source brushless gimbal controller jy0933 Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 16 Feb 26, 2013 09:19 AM