Old Apr 12, 2013, 03:27 PM
left, left, oh, my other left!
Western Mass
Joined Feb 2008
412 Posts
Discussion
Lipo Alternative

Hi All,
I've been flying electric for about 5 years and have exclusively used lipo batteries on my planes. Recently, I've begun taking my trusty old EZ Star slope soaring. The landing zone of my local slope is on the side of a mountain and consists of large rocks, stumps and trees and landings are usually controlled crashes into something hard. Given this situation, for fire-safety reasons, I'm thinking of using a different type of battery. I like using the EZ star with the motor rather than a pure glider as I'm a beginning sloper and the motor has saved me from losing the plane in the woods beneath the slope on more than one occasion.

So my question is, does anyone have a recommendation of a non-lipo battery for this type of application? I'm currently using a 3S 2100mah Lipo in the plane.

Many thanks for your help!
smrouss
smrouss is offline Find More Posts by smrouss
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 12, 2013, 03:53 PM
characters welcome!
United States, CA, Bear Valley Springs
Joined Feb 2000
26,416 Posts
NiMh but that will considerably add to the weight of the plane.

mw
Mark Wood is online now Find More Posts by Mark Wood
Old Apr 12, 2013, 03:59 PM
Western Mass
Joined Feb 2008
412 Posts
I was wondering about that. What would a similar sized NiMH battery be? Is it as simple as just matching up the voltage and capacity to what I'm using for a Lipo or are there different discharge "C" rating or other complexities that I need to consider? Thanks for your help
Old Apr 12, 2013, 06:35 PM
characters welcome!
United States, CA, Bear Valley Springs
Joined Feb 2000
26,416 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by smrouss View Post