HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Mar 28, 2013, 04:25 PM
Don't ask me anything...
Ireland, County Kerry, Kerry
Joined Dec 2005
6,886 Posts
Build Log
The Italian Job: Graecalis aerobatic glider

I am a lucky recipient of one of the first (I think it may be THE first) "craft kits" of this model to be built (and hopefully flown) outside of Italy, so I thought a build thread may be warranted.

So, some background: a group of Italian enthusiasts by the names of Giammarco, Stefano, Michele and Gianni decided to design and build a new aerobatic machine with a wingspan of just under 4 m. The design brief was to go for a look that was a bit different to current models, and, of course, great performance.

To this latter end, a dedicated airfoil was designed for this project by Claudio Becchetti, he calls this foil "BEX 1809". Even though I'm no expert on foil design, I do know that the foil is key to a gliders' performance. Claudio emailed me this explanation: "an evolution of the famous RG15. Camber 1.8 to 48%, and thickness 9% to 28%. The RG has the least resistance to the natural profile but worsens with negative flap. The profile that I obtained, as well as more efficient RG, has a better performance in inverted flight, with the advantage of being able to decrease the resistance with very -2 ° of flaps allowing an acceleration that the RG does not have." That was enough to convince me !

Specs are:

wingspan: 380cm
fuselage length: 209cm
wing loading: 90g/dm2
weight: 8,5kg