SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Mar 26, 2013, 11:23 PM
United States, OH, Cincinnati
Joined May 2009
68 Posts
Build Log
Scratch Built Micro Pylon Racer

Hi Everyone,
I am a student building a micro foamie for my senior thesis in college. Some more details about all of that can be found in my previous posts here and here.
I wanted to design a plane, and needed a purpose behind it to make it a real project. I got some feedback from the community and noticed that pylon racing was a larger interest then I had imagined and was really intriguing. I decided to take this and run with it, and address pylon racing at the micro scale, to be available at both an entry level and simple position. I wanted to communicate a design aesthetic that blended some key interests from my initial survey, scale historic and military planes. What this evolved into was the idea to revitalize the "Muscle" of out aeronautical past in the way that the auto industry has done with the mustang, camaro and others.
All of this came down to a lot of concepting and sketching and I arrived on this final design. I just built my second iteration, and I'm going to get some local club members to take it up for me to really validate the design. I'll be updating this thread with more process as i continue to design and tweak. I'd love to have your feedback and impressions as well!
Jimbo137 is offline Find More Posts by Jimbo137
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 26, 2013, 11:36 PM
Joined May 2009
68 Posts
Started from my sketches and took it into solidworks to model.

Split, programmed and ran on 3D mill.

How it comes out of the mill. (this was my first attempt and cracked it a bunch trying to pull it off.)

Busted Carbon Cub I got on ebay that I trashed for parts while I was waiting on the stuff from hobbyking.

First iteration using the UMX Cub stuff. Had poor hinges since I hadn't done it before.
Old Mar 26, 2013, 11:42 PM
Joined May 2009
68 Posts