HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Mar 19, 2013, 02:22 PM
United States, CO, Loveland
Joined Apr 2009
130 Posts
Discussion
SR.N5 kit or Sirius 600

I'd like to just build from a kit; I'm new to hovercraft but not to RC. I am a bit weak on brushless motors though.

With a separate lift motor, I guess I can go in reverse?

Anyway, my big question is which of these two kits to go with, and which BL motors and esc's to use. Thrust esc F/R proportional and lift esc forward, probably proportional(?). I can use either Lipo or NiMh sub-C size.

The advantages of this one:
http://www.hovercraftmodels.com/SRN5...Hovercraft.htm

are I can buy it in the USA, and it's 16 inches wide. Cons are they are not very responsive to an e-mail question, and they seem to in the past dropped models from their line. Maybe not a good or a bad thing??? They also only discuss brushed motors as coming with the kit, and so far, no info from them as to what BL setup to use.

But here are the motors they use in kit, brushed 400 or 480:
http://hovercraftmodels.com/store/co.../en-us/d9.html

Of course they may be perfectly fine. It's also more of a scale than a racer, I don't know if there is any compromise there.

The Sirius 600:

http://modelhovercraft.co.uk/page13.html

Is 12 inches wide, and I'd have to ship from UK. But it looks like they are adding models to their line (the Sirius is the newest). I have heard they are responsive to questions, and they list BL motors on their site. I have an e-mail in to them now about the lift optional upgrade and what BL motors and esc(s) recommended. Waiting for reply.
H2Ohaze is offline Find More Posts by H2Ohaze
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 20, 2013, 02:45 AM
MHA webmaster
United Kingdom, England, Reading
Joined Mar 2011
207 Posts