HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Mar 16, 2013, 06:57 PM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2013
11 Posts
Discussion
Cant get off the ground :(

Alright so I've finally built my quadrotor and I really want to fly. The problem is every time I try and take of it flips forwards (/pitch)...correct me if I'm wrong on the terms. Anyway my setup is as follows, Dji 450 frame, 1450k motors, 8x4 props, kK 5.5 with Xcopter v2.5 pre loaded, hobby king 30amp escs , and a 40c 3s lipo. I've tried messing with the gyro pots but I still can't get it to just fly up instead of forward and most of the time upside down on the ground I know these things don't fly themselves..but I'm very new to this and could use some advice. Thanks
Salty2 is offline Find More Posts by Salty2
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 16, 2013, 07:00 PM
Mmmmmmm!
WiseDuck's Avatar
Kingdom of Sweden, Dalarna County, Sater
Joined Oct 2011
3,352 Posts
I'm sure others will chime in soon. My personal recommendation is to move on to a KK2 board as quickly as possible, it is MUCH easier to setup, flies much better etc. Pretty much foolproof. I own a lot of flight controllers and I had huge issues with trying to get a simple KK board to work on two small multirotors. They flew, but they never flew well.

The way I see it, KK boards have become obsolete and for just a little more you can get something far more capable. Anyhow, that's just me, so I'll let others help you with this one.
WiseDuck is offline Find More Posts by WiseDuck
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2013, 07:12 PM
Registered User
United States, KY, Bowling Green
Joined Aug 2012
129 Posts
The KK2 is a much better board, but the Old KK board is still a good board. Most likely you have either, a motor plugged into the wrong spot, motor rotating the wrong direction, or have the FC pointing the wrong way. Can you post a picture of the quad from the top? Use the link below to verify everything is installed correctly.
http://www.kkmulticopter.kr/index.html?modea=manual
livinlife is offline Find More Posts by livinlife
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2013, 07:25 PM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2013
11 Posts
Thanks for the replies so far.

Heres some pics




I'm fairly sure the motors are spinning the correct direction. I verified this while building it, but I can double check just to be sure. The white arms are forward
Salty2 is offline Find More Posts by Salty2
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2013, 07:32 PM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2013
11 Posts
I'm going to try the directions in the link you posted livinlife. I'll get back here tomorrow to update what happened.


EDIT: Verified that motors are spinning the correct direction and are plugged in the right spots on the board, also props are on the correct motors.
Salty2 is offline Find More Posts by Salty2
Last edited by Salty2; Mar 16, 2013 at 08:24 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2013, 08:29 PM
Registered User
United States, TN, Nashville
Joined Feb 2013
28 Posts
My guess would be the props, perhaps the ccw is mixed up. I did it once where had two props mixed up and it would flip forward and grind the props into my hardwood.
stan11003 is offline Find More Posts by stan11003
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2013, 08:35 PM
Registered User
United States, MI, Dearborn
Joined Jan 2013
195 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by stan11003 View Post
My guess would be the props, perhaps the ccw is mixed up. I did it once where had two props mixed up and it would flip forward and grind the props into my hardwood.
My favorite is when I accidentally put all 4 in the wrong spots and when I increase throttle the quad just sits there, spinning away.
unit311 is offline Find More Posts by unit311
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2013, 11:43 PM
Registered User
Mortimer's Avatar
Joined Apr 2010
1,399 Posts
There is something wrong.
On your first pic, we clearly see a Rx cable on connector M6.
All Rx cables must be connected on the same side, see picture below.



Mortimer is online now Find More Posts by Mortimer
RCG Plus Member
Last edited by Mortimer; Mar 17, 2013 at 12:06 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2013, 11:46 PM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2013
11 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mortimer View Post
It seems to be something wrong.
On your first pic, we see clearly a Rx cable on connector M6.
All Rx cables must be connected on the same side, see picture below.

Thats the battery cable for the rx, that shouldn't cause any problems right?
Salty2 is offline Find More Posts by Salty2
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2013, 11:54 PM
Registered User
miniquad22's Avatar
United States, CA, La Mesa
Joined Dec 2012
163 Posts
The reciever is powered by the fc which is powered by the esc's if I'm not mistaken so you shouldn't need a servo lead going from your reciever up m6
miniquad22 is offline Find More Posts by miniquad22
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 17, 2013, 12:03 AM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2013
11 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by miniquad22 View Post
The reciever is powered by the fc which is powered by the esc's if I'm not mistaken so you shouldn't need a servo lead going from your reciever up m6
Ah ok..well thats a noob mistake The question is, would that cause any issues?
Salty2 is offline Find More Posts by Salty2
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 17, 2013, 12:19 AM
Registered User
Mortimer's Avatar
Joined Apr 2010
1,399 Posts
"would that cause any issues? "
Of course, you need the 4 Rx channels to be connected at the right place.
Aileron, elevator, throttle and rudder.

Your FC is not in line with your quad's axis and is not rigidly attached.
That could also cause later problems.
Mortimer is online now Find More Posts by Mortimer
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: 5V Power Supply
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 17, 2013, 12:24 AM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2013
11 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mortimer View Post
"would that cause any issues? "
Of course, you need the 4 Rx channels to be connected.
Aileron, elevator, throttle and rudder.

Your FC is not in line with your quad's axis and is not rigidly attached.
That could also cause later problems.
The 4 are connected. The one in M6 is plugged into the battery "channel" if you wanna call it that. Aileron, Elevator, Throttle and Rudder are all connected to the correct spots on the KK board. I know its kind of hard to tell from the image I posted
Salty2 is offline Find More Posts by Salty2
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 17, 2013, 12:25 AM
CunningStuntsFPV
figgoat's Avatar
Australia, WA, Dirk Hartog Island
Joined Dec 2012
635 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mortimer View Post
"would that cause any issues? "
Of course, you need the 4 Rx channels to be connected.
Aileron, elevator, throttle and rudder.

Your FC is not in line with your quad's axis and is not rigidly attached.
That could also cause later problems.
That is a problem right there....centre the FC, and fix it securely and try again.
figgoat is offline Find More Posts by figgoat
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 17, 2013, 12:27 AM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2013
11 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by figgoat View Post
That is a problem right there....centre the FC, and fix it securely and try again.
Ok I'll try, I used double sided tape and its really on there. I couldn't move it earlier, was scared I was going to break it. Thanks for all the help guys/gals
Salty2 is offline Find More Posts by Salty2
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help! V911 only flies for 1-2mins, then barely gets off the ground for remaining 4-5mins... Andy_C Micro Helis 14 Jan 25, 2013 08:50 AM
Discussion cant get blade 400 to lift off the ground 3Dplank Beginner Training Area (Heli-Electric) 5 Apr 02, 2010 06:56 AM
cant get corona off the ground tmophoto Electric Heli Talk 16 Oct 08, 2004 08:58 PM
Cant get far off the ground! montu Micro Helis 0 May 04, 2004 06:26 PM
I cant get my plane off the ground! ashdec87 Electric Ducted Fan Jet Talk 20 Apr 23, 2004 08:05 PM