HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Mar 05, 2013, 08:45 AM
United States, SC, Columbia
Joined May 2010
1,355 Posts
Discussion
How much difference do flaps make on a pattern flyer?

I can't let Tigreflyer ask all of the most interesting questions, so here's one I haven't seen. Is there much difference pattern flying with flaps, or is it just more of a pilot preference? I imagine a flapped plane will make tighter corners on square loops, wingover pullouts, etc.

I'm not expecting to fly for judges, just for my own fun, but I've always been curious. My goal this season is to get as proficient as I can at flying the pattern with my soon-to-maiden Shoestring. It has no flaps, but I think it should be fine for a beginner like me. I'm not a CL beginner, but am only proficient with 1/2A circle burning freestyle stunt madness. I'm ready to put some polish on my routine, and was given a badly wrecked Shoestring to rebuild, so that's where I am now.

It looks like I'm going to get in just under the wire at the recommended 28-30oz. The airframe is at 16.8oz and the engine weighs 10.1oz, plus the tank and LG.

Before and after pictures:
Getting all that yellow paint off was quite a chore.

Name: Shoestring Bones.jpg
Views: 48
Size: 135.8 KB
Description:

Name: Shoestring repaired.jpg
Views: 54
Size: 171.6 KB
Description:
RknRusty is offline Find More Posts by RknRusty
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 05, 2013, 09:13 AM
Old Timer
USA, TX, San Antonio
Joined Jun 2010
839 Posts
Flapped planes do fly differently than unflapped ones, but each kind should be designed to suit the choice made about coupling the flaps. The Magician 35 is one of the best examples of a classic model built both ways (Jim Silhavy's design).