HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Mar 02, 2013, 09:47 AM
Joined Mar 2013
5 Posts
Discussion
Trimming Syma X1 quadcopter

Hello;

Just got a new Syma X1 quad-copter. I'm new to quad-copters in general. I believe I understand the trimming, but I'm wondering if I'm just not doing something right, or if I have a bad X1.

For those familiar with the X1, I have the TX in "mode 2", which I've read is equivalent to "mode 4" in the quad-copter world.

After allowing the gyro to self-calibrate and binding the TX, I apply throttle and the X1 immediately drifts directly to the left. This is indoors with no air currents. I use the "sideward fly fine-tuning" trim switch, and I can get it to the point where the X1 will either drift Very Slowly to the left or, if I adjust the trim switch the other way, Very Slowly to the right. In other words, I can't get it to stay put.

What does this mean? Bad copter, or is there some more complex trimming that I need to do?

Thanks in advance.
JohnR. is offline Find More Posts by JohnR.
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 02, 2013, 09:53 AM
Joined Mar 2013
5 Posts
One other thing that I noticed just now. If, while turned off, I manually turn each blade with my finger one at a time, they all spin very freely except one, which definitely shows more resistance than the others.
Old Mar 02, 2013, 10:54 AM
United States, MA, Plymouth
Joined Jan 2013
1,305 Posts
When you bind, make sure you plug in the battery and then set it down on a LEVEL SURFACE. If you're at a slant, or holding it, the gyro will calibrate to something screwy and keep trying to return itself to that position.

In addition, what you noticed about the props could also be the issue. Check for any hair or anything binding.
Arr0wHead is offline Find More Posts by Arr0wHead
Old Mar 02, 2013, 11:50 AM
Joined Mar 2013
5 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arr0wHead View Post