HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Feb 28, 2013, 12:43 PM
United States, NE, Omaha
Joined Sep 2012
35 Posts
Build Log
Funcopter in a 500 size MD500e ( RC Aerodine )

Hi guys, this is my first attempt at sort of scale?? Having never done this before I will give you a run down on what I encountered.
To start , when I unpacked the fuselage I found that the TAIL was severely cracked and one of the landing struts was wrong. That situation has been resolved thanks to CRMODELS for providing the correct phone number.
well I wasn't going to let that stop me. I started with all the wood they provided , what a chore, I finally got the mechanics positioned ccorrectly, after re doing them about 3 times . I did epoxy and wrap the standoffs with some dryer sheet , for the added strength, thanks CR. The next thing was painting the windows , that went smoothly.
Mounting the mechanics was a buggar, seems I would get it set thinking I was ready to go BUT NO, the tail shaft was off, went about this about 4 times and finally got it right
Having the mechanics in ( temp ) I started to tacle the tail.
Since the tail boom is a little shorter than a normal 500 size heli I had to cut 1" or 2 1/2 cm. off the end of the fuselage, no problem... On the funcopter you have to cut the FIN and a tab that is attached to the tail rotor mechanism , you also have to locate and drill 2 access holes so you can reattach the tail mechanism. I would give the dimentions but I'm sure other people may do it differently.
If you look closely at the pics you will see how I attached the ( broken) tail. I did fabricate 2 1" long wood wedges that are glued in ,one on top and one on the bottom to help steady the tail fin. Also , the tail fin does have to be removed to access a access hole I didn't want to drill through the fin.
Well guys that's about where I'm at until the new parts arrive, I will keep you posted
Bearpilot 10 is offline Find More Posts by Bearpilot 10
to remove ads between posts