SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Feb 26, 2013, 01:19 PM
Joined Feb 2013
3 Posts
Help!
Finding drag coefficient w/o wind tunnel

Hi there! First of all let me introduce myself because this is my post in this community, although I've been reading a lot! My name is Joan, I'm an engineering student from Catalonia, Spain and I'm really interested in aerodynamics, airplanes and airmodels. With this said, I'd like you to help me with a project I have in mind:

The objective is to find the drag coefficient for my MPX Funcub running in straight line with the help of some telemetry instruments. So here comes the science I've been thinking about:

Considering: Drag = 0.5 * airdensity * S * Cx * v^2

And: Thrust - Drag = mass * acc

Airdensity, S(surface) and mass are constant.

The idea is to:
measure: v, rpm, and acc
using: gps, rpm sensor and triaxial accelerometer

With the help of the APC prop's manufacturers dynamic thrust chart find an aproximate value for thrust given values of rpm and v. Then find the Cx for as many cases as possible and find an average value.

So, my question is! First of all if there is something you spot I am saying wrong here or if you think it's going to be a fiasco and I'm just wasting my time... (hope not xD)

Second, what telemetry material I should be getting for the job. What I have in this moment is a Spektrum dx6i tx and orangerx receiver which as I have read are not up for the job.. So what do you think I should get (I've read maybe about turnigy 9xr + frsky). Keep in mind I need the data to be recorded so that I can study it on my laptop later!

Thank you all very much in advance!
Gutenhauer is offline Find More Posts by Gutenhauer
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 26, 2013, 02:43 PM
Herk
Virginia USA
Joined Jun 2007
1,650 Posts
Hi Joan,