HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Feb 25, 2013, 09:18 PM
I'm a crash test dummy ;)
United States, IL, Tinley Park
Joined Feb 2013
15 Posts
Build Log
Lindburg Diesel Tug (12")

I am 15 and new to RC groups (other than what I have read over my dads shoulder) and this is my first build thread so we will see how it goes. This Lindburg diesel tug that I got for Christmas is also my first scale model boat so wish me luck all. There are few pictures of the kit bashing I have been doing to the interior of my cabin.
MiiYeti is offline Find More Posts by MiiYeti
Last edited by MiiYeti; Feb 25, 2013 at 09:26 PM.
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 25, 2013, 09:51 PM
Joined Feb 2013
15 Posts
I am also kit bashing the exterior of the boat to enter in to a boat show in April. Kit bashing such as the bumpers which will be made of rubber, the port and starboard lights I Dremeled out and put 3MM leds in and I removed the S on the smoke stack. here are some pictires of the modifications.
Old Feb 26, 2013, 01:03 AM
Steamy laser dude.
Canada, BC, Victoria
Joined Oct 2011
262 Posts
Hey cool!

Today I bought an old Lindberg Tug called the Carol Ann I think. Seems like this one is quite similar. I'll be watching and stealing ideas, so take lots of pictures.

Welcome to RC Groups!
SenorNeekers is offline Find More Posts by SenorNeekers
Old Feb 26, 2013, 06:56 AM
Sometimes I am the weapon
South Korea, Gyeonggi-do, Ansan-si
Joined Jan 2006
1,064 Posts
Nice work so far and also, welcome to RCG!

The running/navigation lights were not meant to shine light upward but outward instead so to take away the dome shape of the LED you could sand or file the top of them flat and paint the flat spot (be sure to not sand them too far and expose the anode and cathode posts). Are you going to wire the lights to be operable? Better yet, is your tug going to be Radio Controlled?

I would be remiss if I did not mention one of the all-time best build logs for this tug: Salvaging a Lindberg Diesel Tug