HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Feb 25, 2013, 08:58 PM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2011
400 Posts
Build Log
Electric motor for Top flite contender??

im currently working on building my top flite contender. I want to make it electric. I have done alot of searching, but really haven't come up with much. Can't really find any current conversion threads or posts. All are to old and out dated. Ill tell you what i want to do and see if you can help me, or show me some insight.

I want to run a 4s pack. something around a 13x8 or 13x10 prop. I was looking at an e-flite power 46 motor. but i dont know if thats enough power. I dont want to go with a bigger battery. My charging limit is 4s. I want to make sure i have enough power. weight is going to be around 7 lbs to be on the safe side.

Any thoughts or help?
chaos2984 is offline Find More Posts by chaos2984
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 27, 2013, 08:03 AM
jrb
Member
jrb's Avatar
Edina, MN, USA
Joined Oct 1999
11,431 Posts
The motor is not the issue -- power comes from the battery; 4S isn't enough for the classic Contender.

Do you have two of the 4S packs?

The you could do 8S; but then the 46 would be of no value.

In general a 60 size plane needs 6S @ 40amps.
jrb is offline Find More Posts by jrb
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2013, 10:56 PM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2011
400 Posts
well i can do 2 3s packs. That would work. I just dont want to rework my entire support system for the plane. chargers and such. I have 3s sky lipo's 4000mah If i ran them in series that would be fine right? just make a series connector.

I have a e-flite T-34 mentor and i run 4s in that all day and that seems fine. And i think the contender will be lighter than that model.
chaos2984 is offline Find More Posts by chaos2984
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2013, 07:33 AM
jrb
Member
jrb's Avatar
Edina, MN, USA
Joined Oct 1999
11,431 Posts
A friend has a T-34, would think it's lighter than the classic Contender.

Yes two 3S packs in series is like 6S.

If they can handle 50 to 60amps that should work w/46 BL.
jrb is offline Find More Posts by jrb
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2013, 07:42 AM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2011
400 Posts
yea the packs should deff handle that amount of current. Yea i stand corrected. The t-34 is lighter. I dont know how but it is. The plane looks bigger than the mentor. But i looked it up its only 51/2-6 lbs. close but still lighter. Well if im going to run 6s what motor should i run then? how many watts should i figure i need around 1000k watts?
chaos2984 is offline Find More Posts by chaos2984
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2013, 08:40 AM
jrb
Member
jrb's Avatar
Edina, MN, USA
Joined Oct 1999
11,431 Posts
Trike or tail dragger; what type of surface do you fly off of?

If trike potential prop diameter is smaller -- need higher Kv; w/rough surface need even smaller diameter.

You got the batteries; so you know the max watts you have assailable.

Answer to the above tells you what prop.

QED -- pick a motor that fits between the two.
jrb is offline Find More Posts by jrb
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2013, 06:37 PM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2011
400 Posts
its going to be a trike non tail dragger. I have a paved runway and somewhat smooth grass.

The batteries I just want to keep the same support system and not have to buy adapters or chargers. I have chargers from when i use to race cars and i can charge up to 4s's I was just stating what batteries i have. I can buy new ones. ill look what c rating those batteries are, but i think they are 35 or 40c rating.
chaos2984 is offline Find More Posts by chaos2984
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2013, 08:56 PM
Registered User
Doug Bartley's Avatar
Canada, ON, Owen Sound
Joined Oct 2008
2,838 Posts
Because its a trike gear, first determine the actual prop diameter, maybe the drawings or build sheets will let you measure.
I really like Scorpion motors for these type applications. A 4020-14 would spin a 13/8 or 13/10 to 1000watts or so. 70-90mph speeds.
A step faster would be the 4020-12 with a 12/12 apce good for 1700watts and 124 mph. I ran this motor in a 6 1/2 lb Kelly reno racer flat out for 5 minutes at 124.6 mph (gps), motor was basically cold!! Both on 6S ,your 4000mah batteries in series should provide 6-8 minutes of spirited flying. fwiw Doug B
Doug Bartley is offline Find More Posts by Doug Bartley
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 01, 2013, 07:48 AM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2011
400 Posts
yea thats what im looking for. I want to fly at basically mid stick to cruise around and have the power on tap for when i need it to have fun and get out of situations if they arise. i have a 55cc gas 27% extra 260 I fly when i want to do crazy 3d stuff and fly fast. Im just looking to fly around and have fun with this plane and cruise. What kind of speed control would u recommend something that can handle atleast 60amps. Or should i go higher than that.
chaos2984 is offline Find More Posts by chaos2984
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 01, 2013, 10:27 AM
Registered User
Dr Kiwi's Avatar
Chattanooga, Tennessee, United States
Joined May 2003
27,206 Posts
If you are going to pull 60A you should use a speed control capable of 80A or so.
Dr Kiwi is offline Find More Posts by Dr Kiwi
Last edited by Dr Kiwi; Mar 01, 2013 at 05:58 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 01, 2013, 10:40 AM
Registered User
Doug Bartley's Avatar
Canada, ON, Owen Sound
Joined Oct 2008
2,838 Posts
Hi chaos: If you where referring to my posted choices, the minimum would be an 80a. I've used the 80Plush from HK on several planes with total success.
You must get the proper programmer for this unit to get all its benefits.
Another good unit is the Kforce 100 for 6s, its programmer allows even more fine tuning and is very robust, no issues with the ones I've had. Doug B
Doug Bartley is offline Find More Posts by Doug Bartley
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 01, 2013, 09:55 PM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2011
400 Posts
gotcha. Do i really need to look for one with programming options or can i just get a std speed control or do they come able to program them anyways for the cost. i dont need the plane to do anything crazy or squeeze every drop of power out of it. Its going to be for fun flying
chaos2984 is offline Find More Posts by chaos2984
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 02, 2013, 12:49 AM
Registered User
Doug Bartley's Avatar
Canada, ON, Owen Sound
Joined Oct 2008
2,838 Posts
The ability to be reprogrammed comes with the esc, but you'll be constantly fighting the TX system to get it function without the suitable programmers.
It can be very difficult to program these larger esc;s without their programmers. It is well worth the few $$ for the programmer, which makes setup a snap.
I now refuse to buy any esc that doesn't have a programmer available. Early in learning esc's, I spent hours trying to get esc's to a proper setup with the Tx. It took minutes to set the entire system with the programmer. You can see the setup being used, no notes or writing down settings, and can be checked, changes in very short order. jmho fwiw Doug B
Doug Bartley is offline Find More Posts by Doug Bartley
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 02, 2013, 07:43 AM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2011
400 Posts
yea ive had tekin speed controls and castle and they are so much easier to program with software or the card. Ok ill go with a 80amp speed control and that one motor you were talking about. What motor you think. I want this model to be fun to fly it doesnt have to be a screamer
chaos2984 is offline Find More Posts by chaos2984
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Top Flite P-40 Electric Conversion jseese Giant Electric Planes 10 Feb 17, 2014 04:43 PM
Top Flite Contender Convert To Electric? safebet Sport Planes 25 Apr 18, 2007 10:00 AM
Retracts for the Top Flite Contender? Austex Sport Planes 5 Jul 02, 2005 09:29 AM
converting a top flite contender flying_pig Sport Planes 10 Jul 14, 2001 10:19 AM