SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Feb 24, 2013, 07:25 AM
Total Newbie
United Arab Emirates, Dubai
Joined Dec 2012
470 Posts
Question
Good Locally available foam options?

Hi guys, I'm an absolute Newbie as can be seen right above my avatar and have recently had an interest for scratch-builds,the FliteTest 'FT Flyer' to be very precise...
I do know that EPP or Depron would be my best bet to build something like this but sadly I cant find any of those two listed materials around here in Dubai (Shipping foam in is just too expensive and sounds stupid,although I'm open to cheap ideas)

So now, I have foam-board locally available in the craft store nearby or I have this big foam producing company called 'Styro' nearby..
They have EPE sheets (details available HERE)
They have EPS sheets (details available HERE).These are available in different densities too so the salesman said they CAN be stronger than the XPS available (but at the same time heavier)
They have XPS sheets (details available HERE)

If you can look around their website and give me other ideas it would be great too
But yea,the MAIN question here is what would be my BEST option to build my first scratch-build?(Im looking for the long run too)
Do I have any other companies that do cheap shipping to the UAE?
And is starting with a scratch-build the way to go?
jkishan16 is online now Find More Posts by jkishan16
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 24, 2013, 08:12 AM
Joined Feb 2013
38 Posts
hey there!

I've just recently gotten back into RC - used to live near Nad Al Sheba and went there on occasion with my EasyStar + an old 6mm depron scratchbuilt (RIP). Moved to SHJ now, so not many trips down to the club. Do plan to go back there and maiden my Bixler / Quadcopter one of these days!

It's funny you mention Styro - i saw one of their branded vehicles the other day - and figured "must call them to check on EPP/EPS foam availability"