HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Feb 23, 2013, 11:14 AM
farmington, mn
Joined Sep 2003
871 Posts
Discussion
How close should a twin engine be synced

How close do I have to have a twin engine prop plane synced? Never done a twin so I'm not sure at what throttle setting should they be synced at. Also I see there are some really accurate laser opticals are these any good when compared to the standard light ones? I see that I can't select the three blade prop but I guess it wouldn't really matter if I am just trying to synch up engines
Thanks Jeff
jeff262 is offline Find More Posts by jeff262
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 23, 2013, 02:23 PM
USA, IL, Benton
Joined Jan 2005
379 Posts
I'm no expert but I have had a couple of twins and currently have one I like to fly. My advice is to tune each engine as best you can and do not try to match them. As long as the throttle linkage is the same they should be ok. I have watched a couple of club members go to extremes trying to match engines up and so far they have nothing but dead sticks and crashes for their efforts. Trouble starts when you start twisting needles to match the engines instead of just tuning the engines to run their best.
By laser opticals do you mean tachometers? Many of the small cheap ones work fine but the TNC is the best and most expensive at $95 but I just bought a new appearing one for $50. So they can be found cheaper once in a while. The glo-bee is junk but the H-9 and tower work ok. I have a near new H-9 to sell so pm me if your interested.It works great.
Fred
Red Raider is online now Find More Posts by Red Raider
Old Feb 23, 2013, 03:46 PM
The Prez....... again
United States, IA, Rockwell
Joined Jul 2011
3,920 Posts
I was thinking there are now governors available for twins??? I know the heli guys are using governors to maintain a constant rotor speed.

Ken
kenh3497 is online now Find More Posts by kenh3497
Old Feb 23, 2013, 08:00 PM
Jacksonville Fla.
Joined Mar 2007
2,174 Posts