HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Feb 20, 2013, 08:34 AM
Joined Feb 2013
42 Posts
Build Log
Cheap DIY Quadcopter Build - Newbie

Hi everyone.

I'm in the initial stages of building my quadcopter. I want to try and make it as much DIY as i can (ie: i don't want to buy any RTF kits etc.). I am planning on designing my own frame too. I have been reading up around the subject extensively over the last few months as this is my first build so I'm new to the subject. I have a limited budget as I am still a student in high school and so I'm trying to make it relatively cheap.

I have battled with choosing the right motors I want because I wasnt sure how to gauge how much thrust each motor could provide because as far as i know there aren't any calculators besides eCalc that do a conversion that show you how much thrust a specific motor/prop combo could generate and I get confused with eCalc with some of the values!

My total weigh in will probably be around 1000g depending on motor/esc sizes.

I do know that i want to use the KK2.0 Control board and haven't decided on a cheap radio system yet.

If anyone could assist me in motor/prop choice it would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks
simonpurdon is offline Find More Posts by simonpurdon
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 20, 2013, 09:11 AM
Winter Haven FL
Joined Dec 2003
508 Posts
I just built mine and I used the following motors/esc/prop combination.

Turnigy D2830-11 1000KV
Turnigy Multistar 30A esc
10x4.5 Slo-Fly Props

Mine is about 1000g and it hovers great, because that is all I can do. I'm sure it would fly fine as well. 3s 2200 25c lipo is what I am using for a batt
Byrdman is offline Find More Posts by Byrdman
Old Feb 22, 2013, 03:16 PM
Joined Feb 2013
42 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Byrdman View Post
I just built mine and I used the following motors/esc/prop combination.

Turnigy D2830-11 1000KV
Turnigy Multistar 30A esc
10x4.5 Slo-Fly Props