HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Feb 20, 2013, 01:38 AM
New Zealand, Canterbury, Christchurch
Joined Dec 2011
579 Posts
Help!
Hay SW pro's can you help with this?

Hi I'm very new to Solid Works so be kind in your answers:-) I have designed a fuselage that I am happy with and would like to try my hand at building.

I need to know how to brake the drawing down into individual components so I can print them.

I have drawn the components in this case the bulkheads on there own planes I had hoped this would simplify things but I still cant work it out. Hope I'm not being to vague. Like I said I'm a noob at all this. Any help would be greatly appreciated

Thanks
Artful Owl is offline Find More Posts by Artful Owl
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: :-(
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 20, 2013, 08:32 AM
Too many numbers
United States, IL, Lake in the Hills
Joined Oct 2010
1,830 Posts
Set up planes where you want your bulkheads to be and then open a sketch on each plane. Use the surface intersection tool to create a cross section. Notch it out for longitunal strips of balsa, then extrude to 1/16 (or whatever plywood you are using). You can then surface trim if you need to. Once you have it the way you want it, print it.
c131frdave is offline Find More Posts by c131frdave
Old Feb 21, 2013, 04:22 PM
Joined Dec 2011
579 Posts
Thanks for you help Dave. My model is coming along in leaps and bounds now. Much appreciated:-)
RCG Plus Member
Old Feb 21, 2013, 04:35 PM
Joined Dec 2011
579 Posts
Has anyone had any problems printing to scale with solid works? I have read on some forums that people are getting mixed results. Apparently it has something to do with the printer its-self. What are your thoughts? I came across this in Sketchup. It wasn't until I had finished cutting out the formers that I realized my mistake. I gave up on Skectup after that.
RCG Plus Member
Old Feb 21, 2013, 07:37 PM
Jim C Patrick
Shenandoah County
Joined Jan 2008
880 Posts