SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Feb 19, 2013, 06:05 AM
Joined Feb 2013
9 Posts
Discussion
Throttle servo installation

Good day all

Moved to gasoline engine. Got DLE 20cc, on EDGE 540T. Did my first flight couple days ago. Considerin that I'm a heli pilot, and was flying only trainer TT40 plane, it was riski transition. But hey, managed well..

one thing observed, is throttle response. I got flexible pushrod to engine. without tube, as carb has spring to close the throttle. However, does not perform good.

Also, I installed the servo about 30cm away from engine. As I used to read that on gas planes, need to install servo far away. How true is it? What about the helis then? Gas helis has all electronics right next to the engine.

I'm planning to move servo forward, and have METAL pushrod. Any concerns?
jeka616 is offline Find More Posts by jeka616
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 19, 2013, 06:49 AM
tampa,florida
Joined Nov 2007
1,861 Posts
Most of my planes the servo is within 6" of the throttle. As for the linkage, pushrods are good as long ao you use a plastic link, not metal to metal. On my carbs I use the ball links as in the pic, either 2-56 or 4-40 works well. With the 2.4 radios and equipment of today I don't worry about where I place any of my electronics. Like you stated all electronics are well within the 6" perimeter on a heli.
ace4rc is offline Find More Posts by ace4rc
Old Feb 19, 2013, 07:02 AM
Joined Feb 2013
9 Posts
Interesting fact...I thought the metal pushrod acts like a magnetic transponder, so high voltage can jump on wire and transfer to THR servo, which at the end can cause interference with radio.