SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Feb 19, 2013, 12:10 AM
Joined Nov 2012
26 Posts
Discussion
IOM sail winch

Im looking for a mid range sail winch (drum) which wont break my student bank account, so something other than an RMG but with good reliability and performance.

Im currently building my first one metre, a SKA from Brad Gibson, im new to rc sail and havnt even seen a IOM for real yet. That said I need a winch that is fast enough for a newbie when competing with the view that I can upgrade if I get more serious.

Interest in exploring converting a generic heavy duty servo if it wasnt too complicated but it seems it is.
Barbera_Banker is offline Find More Posts by Barbera_Banker
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 19, 2013, 01:59 AM
Useful Idiot
Asturias, Spain
Joined Mar 2001
3,545 Posts
There are some very strong lever arm type servos out there that you might want to consider http://www.cmldistribution.co.uk/cml...tId=0000006203 Your sheeting would be much simpler than with a drum set up and the specifications make it look to have ample torque to handle the conditions, as well as being faster than any drum winch.
martin richards is offline Find More Posts by martin richards
Old Feb 19, 2013, 04:37 AM
United Kingdom, London
Joined Jun 2005
850 Posts
I would always recommend an RMG winch but as you say your funds cannot go that far so I think this is your next best option.
http://www.mxcomponents.com/en/winch...300-winch.html
ToniGe23 is offline Find More Posts by ToniGe23
Old Feb 19, 2013, 04:55 AM
Perth Western Australia
Joined Jul 2009
1,100 Posts
Vigor
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...dProduct=18744
8387mike is offline Find More Posts by 8387mike
Old Feb 19, 2013, 05:30 AM
gp.
gp
South Aust.
Joined Aug 2006
56 Posts
I have a Hitec HS785HB in my IOM which is hitting the water for the first time Saturday,if the weather holds out,other members are using or have used this before in their boats.
Have a great day