HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Feb 16, 2013, 02:57 PM
Joined Feb 2006
30 Posts
Discussion
Whats with all the on-off-on-off driving style?

I'm fairly new to rc cars, but I've been into rc helis for almost 10 years and just made the jump to off-road rc.

What I don't quite get is what the benefit of the twitchy blipping of the throttle I see a lot of guys doing with their cars. It reminds me of what the 2-stroke dirtbike/chainsaw crowd like to do.

I don't know, maybe it serves a good purpose, but it sure seems like the opposite of smooth operation, which in just about every other motorsport equals faster lap times.

I get the temptation to do it, but I thought people with a lot of experience would try to be smoother.
dma251 is offline Find More Posts by dma251
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 16, 2013, 03:46 PM
Detroit 2-stroke junkie
USA, CA, Oceanside
Joined Jul 2008
3,159 Posts
Slow is smooth, smooth is fast.
Practice does not make perfect, Perfect practice does!

Reasons for not being smooth are lack of training, lack of understanding, lack of practice, bad set up, bad radio resolution, bad servo resolution, ect, ect.
1320fastback is offline Find More Posts by 1320fastback
Old Feb 16, 2013, 05:29 PM
Joined Feb 2006
30 Posts
I couldn't agree more.

This is the video that got me thinking about it. This is supposed to be a reviewer with experience...

Turnigy Trail-Blazer XB Maiden Bashing Pt1 (4 min 18 sec)

On the throttle, off the throttle, on the throttle, off the throttle. on/off/on/off....

it reminds me of how my brother drives his car. I don't ride with him anymore...
dma251 is offline Find More Posts by dma251
Old Feb 17, 2013, 01:57 AM
Did you check the FAQ already?
The Netherlands
Joined Jul 2010
11,894 Posts