HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Feb 15, 2013, 06:33 PM
Norway, Oslo
Joined Nov 2012
19 Posts
Build Log
RBC kits P-51 Version 2 (1136 mm)

Im just new to rc planes. Got my bixler lik 4-5 months ago but didnt fly it until like 2 months ago since it took me that long to figure out how a computer radio works but it was good that way since i spent a lot of time practing on a simultor i downloaded on my tablet which was really a big help.

like most people here, My heart was set on warbirds and since especially 1/10 scale bec their big but still small enough to cary a round comfortably. I found out that RBC kits in the netherlands has such warbirds.

I contacted RBC kits because I was interested in getting their P-51 mustang a few weeks ago and found out they were working on a newer version that has a more scale fuselage.

I havent seen the old RBC kit P-51 but from the photos i could see that the fuselage has a scale look to it but most of the surfaces are flat. Upon contacting RBC i was informed that the fuselge of the newer version is more scale and rounded like the real deal.

So i ordered one and less than a week later it arrived

this is my second kit. my first was a 1/12 scale mk tempest from warbirds.com.

Th P-51 kit came with all the wood material needed to complete the plane (stringers, leading edge, trailing edge,balsa planks for covering) and some hardware (piano wire, ca hinges, control horns, bolts and screws)

the wood quality is really really really good. and the parts a well cut (looks like with an CNC) and it came with a Cd with build pictures and P51 mustanf information and some scale details. And a huge CAD drawing came with it,

the CAD drawing is however not 1: 1 with the actual model. But it is not need since the parts are acurately cut and fits like a jigsaw puzzle. It is needed only as reference.

It did not come with any instruction booklet so previous build experience is need.

Here are my plans for the plane: