HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Feb 14, 2013, 12:52 PM
United States, CO, Colorado Springs
Joined Jan 2013
224 Posts
Discussion
Soldering Iron?

A total noob here...everything is new to me. I need to pick up a soldering iron and can't drop $80 or more for an iron. How many watts do I really need?
I'm assembling a vtail quad and will need to solder 30amp ESC's to 1450Kv motors. I've found irons from 15 watts to 50-60 watts at Radio Shack in the $15-$30 range. Will these suffice?
pbosche is offline Find More Posts by pbosche
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 14, 2013, 01:12 PM
United States, OH, Youngstown
Joined Nov 2004
593 Posts
25 to 40w should be fine for 14ga? wire. For 12ga or larger connectors, 40-60w. Since you are only heating wire, too hot is better than not.

Not sure where you are, but the prices seem high. Most irons are $10.

Don't forget some rosin flux and solder. I prefer the 63/37

There's some really good guides for soldering to be found. just remember keep the tip tinned/clean. A good solder joint is shiny and if it takes more than 2-3 seconds to melt, something isn't right. Hope this helps.
RedLine19k is offline Find More Posts by RedLine19k
Old Feb 14, 2013, 03:57 PM
Columbus Ohio.
Joined Aug 2006
151 Posts
Are you ever planning on working on circuit boards, through hole, and surface mount components. Or are you just talking about soldering connectors on the ends of wires.

If it's just the connectors...then you can go cheap...but at least 40 watts.

If you are just getting into the hobby and want something to last a lifetime, and handle all facets of soldering work, then get something decent with enough power, and adjustable heat:
Yes, about $100 with shipping.
http://www.all-spec.com/products/FX-888.html

Here's an economical clone from Hobby that's cheap but may be more flexible than the Radio Shack alternative.
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...arehouse_.html
I guess they are also on EBAY.