SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Feb 12, 2013, 02:00 AM
USA, CA, Marina del Rey
Joined Jul 2010
553 Posts
Question
Newbie question

Hey guys just a quick one for you, I'm just getting into gliders, I brought a radian pro and have been doing a lot of slope soaring with it now I want something a little better, I am new to this and don't want to put money into something then find out there is better out there for the same cost.

I'm thinking of the fly fly ask 21 2.6m as the next step, I will eventually get into the higher end stuff just as I did with turbines but to begin with I just want something that I can get finished for say, sub $400.

I really want it to have flaps because where I have been flying has very short landing areas, it has to be powered because of my lack of experience and where I fly you cant walk down the hillside.

I hear that the fly fly stuff is a little heavy and that means that its less capable thermaling which is ok, I wouldn't want something that absolutely won't thermal but it also doesn't have to be the best at it either.

So, should have flaps (slow landings)
should be powered
Should be larger than the radian
hopefully sub $400

what do you have in mind?

thanks

Kim
lightningmcnul is offline Find More Posts by lightningmcnul
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 14, 2013, 10:34 AM
So. Cal
Joined Jan 2005
137 Posts
I thought of this new ARF that sells for under $400 but probably will run you closer to $500 if you add the electric motor setup using a discount selller, like HobbyKing.

http://www.horizonhobby.com/products...9m-arf-EFL4905

No personal experience, just came to my mind when I read your post. Probably should read some reviews before you buy to make sure it is OK.
TOSSPilot is offline Find More Posts by TOSSPilot
Old Feb 14, 2013, 10:48 AM
USA, CA, Marina del Rey
Joined Jul 2010
553 Posts