SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Feb 11, 2013, 02:58 AM
Registered User
wizard of odd's Avatar
Australia, WA, Kalgoorlie
Joined Apr 2011
1,411 Posts
fly2bob, that's really terrible to hear. You've made me count my blessings today. I sincerely hope things will change for the better for you very soon. Hang in there mate...
wizard of odd is offline Find More Posts by wizard of odd
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 11, 2013, 03:00 AM
Gilbert AZ
United States, AZ, Gilbert
Joined May 2012
1,617 Posts
Wizard what time is it where your at.
azflyingguy is offline Find More Posts by azflyingguy
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2013, 03:02 AM
Registered User
wizard of odd's Avatar
Australia, WA, Kalgoorlie
Joined Apr 2011
1,411 Posts
17h01 right now, why?
wizard of odd is offline Find More Posts by wizard of odd
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2013, 03:03 AM
Gilbert AZ
United States, AZ, Gilbert
Joined May 2012
1,617 Posts
Just wondering what the time difference is from az. No particular reason.
azflyingguy is offline Find More Posts by azflyingguy
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2013, 03:05 AM
Closed Account
Joined Aug 2007
4,497 Posts
I found this link! http://www.google.com/search?q=what+...utf-8&oe=utf-8
eagle777 is offline Find More Posts by eagle777
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2013, 03:08 AM
Gilbert AZ
United States, AZ, Gilbert
Joined May 2012
1,617 Posts
Cool eagle.
azflyingguy is offline Find More Posts by azflyingguy
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2013, 03:14 AM
Registered User
wizard of odd's Avatar
Australia, WA, Kalgoorlie
Joined Apr 2011
1,411 Posts
You just sent a post 15 hours into the future
wizard of odd is offline Find More Posts by wizard of odd
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2013, 04:56 AM
Gilbert AZ
United States, AZ, Gilbert
Joined May 2012
1,617 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by wizard of odd View Post
You just sent a post 15 hours into the future
Awesome
azflyingguy is offline Find More Posts by azflyingguy
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2013, 09:12 AM
Registered User
Beaumont tx
Joined Oct 2004
3,739 Posts
"My biggest complaint with this hobby is causing me to spend money"

Oh, AZ, you don't know the HALF of it!!

howell
gwinhh is offline Find More Posts by gwinhh
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2013, 11:31 AM
aka: A.Roger Wilfong
gnofliwr's Avatar
Novi, Michigan, United States
Joined Jan 2001
2,533 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChillPhatCat View Post
Be happy we don't still have proprietary airtronics plugs.
Thank God everyone switched to "standard" RIM (Red In the Middle) connectors. At least now, if if you plug them in backwards, the magic smoke doesn't leak out. And everyone uses almost the same pulse width range (at least close enough to be interoperable), albeit, not the same direction.

As for the Futaba tab... #11 Xacto knives aren't just for balsa. BTW, you might also need to scrape a bevel on the edges of the plug body to get it to fit in some RXs.

- Roger
gnofliwr is offline Find More Posts by gnofliwr
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2013, 11:36 AM
Registered User
DustBen's Avatar
United States, NE, Kearney
Joined Dec 2011
2,277 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by gnofliwr View Post
Thank God everyone switched to "standard" RIM (Red In the Middle) connectors. At least now, if if you plug them in backwards, the magic smoke doesn't leak out. And everyone uses almost the same pulse width range (at least close enough to be interoperable), albeit, not the same direction.

As for the Futaba tab... #11 Xacto knives aren't just for balsa. BTW, you might also need to scrape a bevel on the edges of the plug body to get it to fit in some RXs.

- Roger
I still have 3 Airtronics radios and 14 receivers I use.
I don't have any Airtronics servos or batteries but I do have other systems that are "universal".
I finally sat down one night and switched red and black wires on 40 extensions, marked them with a colored zip tie, and now I can easily plug any universal device thru the 3" extensions into the old "red wire, lateral position" Airtronic stuff.
DustBen is online now Find More Posts by DustBen
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2013, 12:22 PM
Redacted per NSA "suggestion"
dedStik's Avatar
United States, VA, Virginia Beach
Joined Feb 2012
5,442 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by btown2 View Post
No standardization of parts.

This is driving me bat crap crazy. Why can't we standardize a few things in this hobby? Why in the year 2013 do I have to physically cut off pieces of my servos to get them to fit into a receiver?

I bought a plane at a swap today. It had Futaba servos installed on it. I got home to find out that my ar600 isnt keyed so if I want to use those servos with it I have to cut off pieces of them. That is just ridiculous.

Please tell me that I can get some sort of converter so that I don't have to damage PERFECTLY GOOD SERVOS.
It's called an xacto knife you take it and cut that little paddle off the side of the connector and you can use the servo in your AR600, I've got Futaba servos in an AR400 application and they work fine, you just have to shave the tab off. Make sure to hold the connector with a pair of needle nosed pliers and cut away from the wires and yourself.
dedStik is online now Find More Posts by dedStik
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: More Confessions of a Smoker
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2013, 04:48 PM
Registered User
GoatZilla's Avatar
Joined Sep 2005
1,003 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rafe_b View Post
Who is this old crowd you refer to, and what makes you think they have any say in the matter of servo connectors?
Aside from the manufacturers themselves, everyone who keeps saying, "Oh, it's not a big deal, you just [insert workaround] and you're fine."

And with that, nothing will ever get fixed.
GoatZilla is online now Find More Posts by GoatZilla
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2013, 05:06 PM
Gilbert AZ
United States, AZ, Gilbert
Joined May 2012
1,617 Posts
There is a lot more in this world need fixing than no standard connectors.
azflyingguy is offline Find More Posts by azflyingguy
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2013, 05:25 PM
Registered User
Marietta GA.
Joined Jan 2011
337 Posts
Not to jack your thread and I can deal with it..Is standard and metric hardware...All these things are made in China...Why when you go the hobby shop all they have 2-56 hardware etc...I wish dubro would get with times and offer all that..2mm, 3mm etc...I think some of the evolution or OS engine come with a 1/4-28 nut...why? So I can carry around a bunch of different tools..lets go metric and get with the program..
mazjag is online now Find More Posts by mazjag
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Careful! My 1st real issue with Banana Hobby... TxToast Banana Hobby 1 Dec 31, 2011 09:17 AM
Discussion I'm her biggest fan!!Video of my daughter with Autism!!! lutach Life, The Universe, and Politics 10 Apr 03, 2008 08:20 AM
Question Motor issue on my Hobby-lobby Yak 55 egens Power Systems 1 Jul 21, 2007 10:12 PM
Discussion My issue with my remote OblivionLord Beginner Training Area (Aircraft-Electric) 10 Dec 17, 2006 03:32 PM