HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Feb 10, 2013, 07:54 AM
I bail out, anywhere, anytime
Taurus Flyer's Avatar
The Netherlands, OV, Almelo
Joined Nov 2010
2,957 Posts
"Old School"
Taurus Flyer is offline Find More Posts by Taurus Flyer
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 10, 2013, 08:13 AM
Registered User
United Kingdom, Bristol
Joined Aug 2008
1,774 Posts
http://forum.freetronics.com/viewtopic.php?t=342 if you have an arduino just maybe you could use this .
SadSack is offline Find More Posts by SadSack
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2013, 02:54 PM
We want... Information!
Bruce Abbott's Avatar
Hastings, New Zealand
Joined Jan 2001
5,185 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by leadfeather View Post
Are there enough ports for two inputs.
Yes. GP2 is free, and could be used to input another channel.

Quote:
How is the chip flashed?
With a PIC programmer.

I recommend Microchip's PICkit 3.

I have arranged the inputs and outputs so that the chip can be programmed in circuit. Vpp is connected to the servo input. Clock and Data are connected to the two servo outputs.
Bruce Abbott is offline Find More Posts by Bruce Abbott
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2013, 03:35 PM
AndyKunz's Avatar
Illinois
Joined Sep 2001
24,026 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by leadfeather View Post
Didn't work.
What changes did you make for the linkages to get the full deflection at the elevator? That is an essential part. Perhaps I didn't emphasize that enough, but it's up there.

Quote:
I used my Dx7. Mixed elevator to elevator, travel set at 150% both directions and expo at 100%.

The result. No extra travel from the mix. The radio seems to truncate the output at 150% max.
Of course, travel will ALWAYS be limited to 150%. That's the limit of what the receivers can provide to the servos.

Quote:
Net result, mixing elevator to elevator does not add any maximum servo travel and it reduces expo.
Exactly. Reduce expo for normal flight w/o changing handling (notice the max percentage < 150%). This gives you more-normal flying conditions. When the mix is disabled, you now have 150% range, which gives you the full +/-150% travel of the servo pulse.

Once you make the linkage changes, it will be apparent.

Andy
AndyKunz is offline Find More Posts by AndyKunz
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2013, 04:53 PM
Dave the Rave
dmccormick001's Avatar
Joined Jun 2007
875 Posts
From Bruce's source code posted above.....

"16 bit macros (little-endian)"



Can't stop grinning at that one!
dmccormick001 is offline Find More Posts by dmccormick001
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2013, 01:37 PM
KK Tri Flyer
mattcro's Avatar
United Kingdom, Scotland, Glasgow
Joined Feb 2012
346 Posts
...and you know what the opposite of "little endian" is? That's right: "Big endian".
mattcro is offline Find More Posts by mattcro
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2013, 11:51 AM
Registered User
Joined May 2008
22 Posts
Bruce, I follow this thread, because I need to control the stretching of 4 servo''s in my yacht, (I don''t want to contol it on my FC28-transmitter)
I don''t have to strech the signal, but control the endpoints of the servo signal.
I can build 4 of your PCB''s, but you tell here that its posible to have more inputs and outputs on this .
Is that possible and can you place that on the forum.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bruce Abbott View Post
Yes. GP2 is free, and could be used to input another channel.

With a PIC programmer.

I recommend Microchip's PICkit 3.

I have arranged the inputs and outputs so that the chip can be programmed in circuit. Vpp is connected to the servo input. Clock and Data are connected to the two servo outputs.
jankraak is offline Find More Posts by jankraak
Last edited by jankraak; Feb 14, 2013 at 11:56 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2013, 01:25 PM
We want... Information!
Bruce Abbott's Avatar
Hastings, New Zealand
Joined Jan 2001
5,185 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jankraak View Post
I can build 4 of your PCB''s, but you tell here that its posible to have more inputs and outputs on this .
Is that possible and can you place that on the forum.
I will work on it when I get some free time (just have a few other jobs to sort out first).

Quote:
I need to control the stretching of 4 servo''s in my yacht, (I don''t want to contol it on my FC28-transmitter)
I don''t have to strech the signal, but control the endpoints of the servo signal.
What exactly do you want it to do?
Bruce Abbott is offline Find More Posts by Bruce Abbott
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2013, 02:09 PM
Registered User
Joined May 2008
22 Posts
Bruce,

i have 4 servo winches in my Yacht.
I want to control the max. and min. way af traveling.
This is possible by my transmitter, but its saver to do it in the ship itself, so the servo winches can travel to much if I choose a wrong ship in my transmitter.
and is het possible that it also have a failsve position of 1.5ms

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bruce Abbott View Post
I will work on it when I get some free time (just have a few other jobs to sort out first).

What exactly do you want it to do?
jankraak is offline Find More Posts by jankraak
Last edited by jankraak; Feb 16, 2013 at 08:16 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old May 27, 2013, 08:11 AM
Registered User
elkdom's Avatar
Spain
Joined May 2013
3 Posts
Hi,
A long time watching posts on this forum.
I have some questions related to the practical implementation of an electronic device, how to command two linearly proportional analog servo, S3003 etc.
Enter one channel, output from two channel.

Would be something like the imagening of Bruce Abbot, who also salute him!!
Bruce, assemblies and electronic schematics how you imagined and you have posted, I realized and Iam very pleased.
I watched and ESC from your page on your site, and updates from here.
But back to what I said at the beginning ...
A functional schematic diagram with an inexpensive microprocessor eg: PIC12F675 or other, which can make setting the servo beginning and ending heads positions in the
-90 , 0 , +90 .
(Total= 0 -180)
Inspired by you post with the example that here:http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...3&postcount=13,
I sketched a schematic circuit diagram, that I think are functioning.
But, as I know very little programming, but want to learn, my scheme lacks something:
. asm,. hex and the necessary corrections if something is wrong in it.
I will please do them.
If you have time ...
In any case, I wish you all the best.
Regards,
elkdom is offline Find More Posts by elkdom
Last edited by elkdom; May 28, 2013 at 01:11 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old May 28, 2013, 04:53 AM
We want... Information!
Bruce Abbott's Avatar
Hastings, New Zealand
Joined Jan 2001
5,185 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by elkdom View Post
I sketched a schematic circuit diagram, that I think are functioning.
There is small mistake in your circuit - pins 3 and 5 should be connected only to the pot wipers, not to ground.

Quote:
But, as I know very little programming, but want to learn, my scheme lacks something:
. asm,. hex
I am working on some code to produce two outputs with individual ATV adjustment. When I get the bugs out of it I will post the asm and hex files here.

Meanwhile, I suggest that you download and install MPLAB8.91, then you can learn how to write your own programs.
Bruce Abbott is offline Find More Posts by Bruce Abbott
Reply With Quote
Old May 28, 2013, 12:19 PM
Registered User
elkdom's Avatar
Spain
Joined May 2013
3 Posts
Good evening,
Yes, it is!
I made a childish mistake.I posted once, and I was wrong.
I corrected the mistake with the correct electronic scheme.Thank you, for your prompt reaponse and corrections made.
I look forward to your posts, so that I can respond to queries that I have, and I follow your advice.I know that nothing is done without working.
I want to learn and through this hobby maybe I'll be able to answer the question that bothers me.
Began looking for a way to guide me on this journey of learning programming.
At the time had to learn programming, I did not, and now, I'm sorry.
I hope to correct this shortcoming with a little help ...
It's like Joe Cocker song! (Woodstock 1969)
I just need some guidelines and some tips provided by a person like you, with teaching spirit that you have.
I wish you good night, and tomorrow, one day as good.
elkdom is offline Find More Posts by elkdom
Last edited by elkdom; May 28, 2013 at 01:48 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2013, 05:47 PM
We want... Information!
Bruce Abbott's Avatar
Hastings, New Zealand
Joined Jan 2001
5,185 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by elkdom View Post
I corrected the mistake with the correct electronic scheme.
Looking good.

Here is the first draft of my code (took a little longer than I expected to swat the bugs!). It is set to give an ATV of 66% to 200%.
Bruce Abbott is offline Find More Posts by Bruce Abbott
Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 2013, 04:23 PM
Registered User
elkdom's Avatar
Spain
Joined May 2013
3 Posts
Hello Bruce,
Honestly, I did not expect so soon to live with these problems, especially since you said that you have to work.
But as I guessed you do not belie...Nice of you!
Now I have no choice than to go to work and to discover the answer to questions that I had unanswered and that solving in the code you posted.
I refer to my level of understanding and if I do not have to understand something, I will ask.
I hope not to bore you...
Is a great solution for the needs of others dealing with robots and in many areas of functional scale models.
The adjustment range is more than enough with those percentages you've got.
Would remain other scheme, I refer to the adjusting speed servos
That when you have time and do not require too much!
But, for now I can to do and at what to work.
Thanks for all and only better,
elkdom is offline Find More Posts by elkdom
Last edited by elkdom; May 31, 2013 at 04:40 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mini-HowTo How to Select Your First Radio aeajr Beginner Training Area (Aircraft-Electric) 53 Oct 07, 2014 12:53 PM
Discussion How To Make Molds - Composite Gliders SOOFLY Composites Fabrication 9 Jan 20, 2013 03:31 PM
Idea How To Make Sure Your Package Never Arrives propflipper Trader Talk 27 Jan 15, 2013 06:47 PM
Discussion How to make a very thin, airfoil wing? mongdex Foamies (Scratchbuilt) 7 Jan 15, 2013 05:32 PM
Question How to make an actuator? joker24458 DIY Electronics 1 Jan 14, 2013 07:16 PM