Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Feb 08, 2013, 11:38 AM
Joined Feb 2005
2 Posts
Help!
Newbie Basic RC Setup Question

Hi All,

I've been lurking here for awhile and I'm interested in trying a square-rigger.

I come from the freeflight airplane world so the boat building looks pretty familiar to me. However, I'm a complete newbie to RC.

After browsing through numerous threads and sites on the net, I have a general idea of what I need- transmitter/ receiver combo, a few servos, batteries.

Looking at getting something on the budget end (would love to keep the whole system under $150 if possible- might be fooling myself...) since I really don't plan on doing any other RC- I just want a simple system for a beginner square-rigger. I was thinking of something along the lines of the FlySky 6 or 9X cheapo type tx/rx combos just to mess around with.

Thought I had a basic system figured out but then I realized I need a battery pack for the receiver. Wow, that opened up dozens and dozens of more questions...

I could do something like the 4 x AA battery pack that's used in one of the plastic bottle boat threads I saw. I think that would be the cheapest upfront cost. I'm wondering though, is there a reasonable budget solution that you guys would recommend other than that to power the receiver? Looking at the myriad of options for lipos and chargers, it looks like I could easily spend more on the receiver battery and charger than the rest of my system combined, accidentally catch the receiver on fire and/or accidentally burn my house down in the process of charging the battery.

Help?

Thanks!

-Wayne
cornetapistons is offline Find More Posts by cornetapistons
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 08, 2013, 06:33 PM
Damp and Dizzy member
Bozeman, Montana, United States
Joined Aug 2003
3,387 Posts