HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Feb 07, 2013, 02:08 PM
R/C newbie
United States, TX, Austin
Joined Mar 2008
181 Posts
Discussion
Newbie learning heli: Why does the Heli climb up fast

I am a newbie trying to learn flying heli. I am learning it on RF 6.5 and on the WL toys V911.

The most frustrating part for me has been that the heli climbs up even without me giving much throttle. It is so hard to keep the altitude.

Is this normal ?

Would more practice allow me to get a better grip on the altitude issue?

Thanks for any feedback!
rkovvur is offline Find More Posts by rkovvur
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 07, 2013, 04:05 PM
AMA 994002
United States, RI, Westerly
Joined May 2012
1,050 Posts
Sounds like a throttle management issue. Because the air you fly in is always in some sort of movement, you'll constantly be making throttle adjustments. My dog walks by my Nano and it'll upset the hover enough to send it in a random direction if I'm not ready for it. It's not quite so bad with a Fixed Pitch heli than a Collective Pitch is. Any air movement will mess with the flight characteristics, especially close to the ground, i.e., "ground effect". I've had that affect flight as high as 3 or 4 feet above the floor, sometimes not at all...
matiac is offline Find More Posts by matiac
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Stability issue
Old Feb 07, 2013, 04:07 PM
My other addiction!
Marysville, Ca., US
Joined Jan 2007
1,726 Posts
Throttle/collective control is one of the many skills you will need to master. Keep practicing!!
norcalheli is offline Find More Posts by norcalheli
Old Feb 07, 2013, 04:18 PM
FPV Noob KD0VMK
United States, MO, Platte City
Joined Jun 2012
677 Posts
Totally normal...just keep practicing.

Remember to use small and slow control movements. New pilots almost always over control with jerky and extreme control inputs. It only takes a little bit of control input to make an adjustment mid-flight.
Chubbs is offline Find More Posts by Chubbs