HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Feb 04, 2013, 01:09 PM
Dave the Rave
Joined Jun 2007
876 Posts
Discussion
Help with wiring an H-bridge

Hey Guys! I need some help understanding the wiring of an H-bridge. I'm trying to build a controller for a friend that will operate a set of mechanical retracts that use brushed DC motors mounted inside the retract itself, no servos involved. I'm planning to use a PIC16F684 for the "brains", and I want to power the PIC from the RX battery (5vDC), but use a separate battery for the gear, since they're pretty large and are designed to operate on 6-7.5vDC.

I understand that I'll need an H-bridge to control the motor in both directions, but I've never used one before, so I'm not sure about how to connect the battery that drives the DC motors. I have some good HEXFETs that I think will handle the current, and was going to wire them up in accordance with Microchip's recommendation in their "DC Motor Control Tips and Tricks". I've attached a copy of the circuit diagram they provide. I've used a single FET switched by a PIC to drive a higher-voltage device, like 12V LED strip lights, I just tied the + supplies together and the FET switched the - side. But with the arrangement shown in the drawing, it looks like I would have to tie BOTH the + and - together, since there are 2 NPN and 2 PNP transistors in the bridge, and I know that's not right. How can I use an H-bridge, driven (logic that is) by a PIC running on 5 volts, to drive DC motors that run on 7.2 volts? Thanks in advance for your help.
dmccormick001 is offline Find More Posts by dmccormick001
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 04, 2013, 01:19 PM
Illinois
Joined Sep 2001
25,243 Posts
A couple tricks. You can boost voltage and use a FET driver to provide proper gate voltage on 4 N-FETs. More easily, especially for a one-off and low current and these low voltages, is to use P-FETs on the top side (A and D) and N-FETs on the bottom (B and C).