HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Feb 03, 2013, 01:06 PM
rip
United States, FL, Niceville
Joined Jan 2013
1,655 Posts
Discussion
Folding prop for 2-meter thermal sailing

I'm new to electrics. Trying to make sense of all this. I am building a two meter glider and my intention is to put a prop on it for "powered launch". (about 30 sec powered launch)

In their "power packages" Espirit models suggests:
  • 1.5-2 m sailplane...Aeronaut folding 12.5x6
  • 2-2.5 m sailplane...Aeronaut folding 14x9

Which of the two props is reasonable for a glider like the 2 meter Spirit?

Where can I find what is the ideal RPM for these props?

If I know the ideal RPM it would simplify picking a motor/esc/battery

I have a good motor sim program for that.

The plan is to run the motor for 30 secs to climb.
ripacheco is offline Find More Posts by ripacheco
Last edited by ripacheco; Feb 03, 2013 at 01:41 PM.
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 03, 2013, 01:30 PM
rip
Joined Jan 2013
1,655 Posts
I found the specs for the Aeronaut props:

http://www.aero-naut.de/en/products/...ropellers.html

Max RPM for the props is listed as:
  • 12,000 for the 12.5x6
  • 11,000 for the 14x9U
My understanding is that beyond these RPMs the tips of the props will go faster than Mach 1 and that is terrible performance efficiency wise. Too little RPM you don't get the static/dynamic thrust you seek.

The plan is now ...
  • What power system (motor/ESC/batt) can handle some % of that max rpm for 30 secs...
  • Must keep in mind that as the plane accelerates so will the prop. Most not exceed the max rpm during the run...
  • Will have to figure out % of the max RPM so I can test the power system on the bench...

I'm right or I'm nuts?
Last edited by ripacheco; Feb 03, 2013 at 01:58 PM.
Old Feb 03, 2013, 01:54 PM
Chico, California USA
Joined Mar 2003
462 Posts