HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Feb 02, 2013, 11:56 AM
Joined Feb 2006
30 Posts
Discussion
Can I use a 2s lipo instead of 7.2v Nicd?

I have lots of lipos and a good benchtop charger for my rc helis, and for simplicity I would like to use them on my new Redcat Volcano EPX (brushed motor).

Is that a bad idea? I am new to rc trucks, and I am surprised you guys even use nicd or nmhd batteries anymore. How come that is? Seems like lipo works as well or better for everything else. (except on a Boeing 787)

Is the charge / discharge times similar?
dma251 is offline Find More Posts by dma251
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 02, 2013, 01:18 PM
Did you check the FAQ already?
The Netherlands
Joined Jul 2010
12,092 Posts
Lipo has some advantages over a 6 cell NiCad or NiMh, no doubt. You can draw more current from the pack while it holds a higher voltage, so acceleration and top speed are enhanced. Lipos are about 40% lighter for the same capacity, so you can drive longer. And you can charge some of these pretty fast, up to 5C, so that means your pack will be full in about 10 to 15 minutes.

But, there are also drawbacks that has some sticking to NiMh for now. Some like to keep an older car fully "vintage" so all equipment used to be from the era the car is from. Lipos also are a greater fire hazard than NiMh or NiCad, both while driving and when stored. You need special warning system to prevent discharging them too low, while on NiMh you can easily notice the pack is starting to dump, and stop before problems arise.

Besides, not everyone is willing to invest money into a lipo compatible charger, or needs the extra speed and power of lipos.