HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Feb 01, 2013, 07:39 PM
I bail out, anywhere, anytime
Taurus Flyer's Avatar
The Netherlands, OV, Almelo
Joined Nov 2010
2,973 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottydsntknow View Post
Lol I was just thinking that. Just because its new doesn't mean its bad. Signal strength alone is a good thing to have. Those running glow/meth get a friggin gas gauge. I can't tell you how many times I wished I knew how much fuel I had left as a kid learning to fly. Of course now I'm switching to gasoline and the gauges won't read that either haha.

Scotty, I do not know the detailed developments in your country but, when I read this, your words: " Signal strength alone is a good thing to have I " than I wonder what is happening in your modeling world: Are you busy whit some kind of reverse engineering? During my 45 years of model flying I never needed a signal strength meter even I did start to use my own designed telemetry systems about 35 years ago. The commercial systems were available in Europe about 20 years ago!!
Taurus Flyer is offline Find More Posts by Taurus Flyer
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 01, 2013, 07:42 PM
FloridaFlyBob's Avatar
United States, FL, Fort Myers
Joined Nov 2011
1,320 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottydsntknow View Post
Oh I understand it is a luxury, but when the cost is about the same I'll go for the luxury. $50 for a FrSky module and receiver, $50 for a Turnigy 9x or XR... vs $500+ for an Aurora or jeebus knows how much for a Futaba/JR.

I do like the idea of a LED or light for a low fuel indication though. Is there some sort of sensor system you can buy or is that something you just DIY?
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...ge_Sensor.html
FloridaFlyBob is online now Find More Posts by FloridaFlyBob
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 01, 2013, 08:59 PM
Registered User
Jacksonville Fla.
Joined Mar 2007
2,223 Posts
I have a fuel gauge on my wrist everytime I fly..works with glow or gas has both a digital and analog read out ...it even talks to be it says tic toc
jetmech05 is offline Find More Posts by jetmech05
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 01, 2013, 09:07 PM
Detroit 2-stroke junkie
1320fastback's Avatar
USA, CA, Oceanside
Joined Jul 2008
3,419 Posts
+1 to Casio
1320fastback is online now Find More Posts by 1320fastback
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2013, 03:27 AM
I bail out, anywhere, anytime
Taurus Flyer's Avatar
The Netherlands, OV, Almelo
Joined Nov 2010
2,973 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jetmech05 View Post
I have a fuel gauge on my wrist everytime I fly..works with glow or gas has both a digital and analog read out ...it even talks to be it says tic toc
Jetmech, was this you wrote? 2007!

I've been in RC for a few years now been an instructor, and a trainning commette chairman...so I KNOW I mean I really really KNOW.

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...58&postcount=1


On RCU there was G-Pete playing same games with "Old School". Now he is playing my screen saver, run out of gas!!
Taurus Flyer.
Taurus Flyer is offline Find More Posts by Taurus Flyer
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2013, 03:44 AM
Registered User
Reginald's Avatar
Belgium
Joined Aug 2004
3,976 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jetmech05 View Post
I have a fuel gauge on my wrist everytime I fly..works with glow or gas has both a digital and analog read out ...it even talks to be it says tic toc
Indeed, did you know that Rolex now has a luxury version ?
Reginald is offline Find More Posts by Reginald
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2013, 03:57 AM
I bail out, anywhere, anytime
Taurus Flyer's Avatar
The Netherlands, OV, Almelo
Joined Nov 2010
2,973 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reginald View Post
Indeed, did you know that Rolex now has a luxury version ?
Vacuum activated?
Taurus Flyer is offline Find More Posts by Taurus Flyer
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2013, 07:22 PM
Registered User
Jacksonville Fla.
Joined Mar 2007
2,223 Posts
Tauris I wrote that, why?
jetmech05 is offline Find More Posts by jetmech05
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 03, 2013, 09:51 AM
I bail out, anywhere, anytime
Taurus Flyer's Avatar
The Netherlands, OV, Almelo
Joined Nov 2010
2,973 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jetmech05 View Post
Tauris I wrote that, why?
Tauris I wrote that, why?


Indeed Jet, you wrote:
I have a fuel gauge on my wrist everytime I fly..works with glow or gas has both a digital and analog read out ...it even talks to be it says tic toc


In another thread you wrote:
I don't time....But I seem to know when I'm getting low on gas....as a rule dead sticking is not a god thing...as once you're dead stick you are going to land, no going around....

I think you want attention but don't have the know-how to contribute.


Taurus Flyer
Taurus Flyer is offline Find More Posts by Taurus Flyer
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2013, 10:20 AM
Registered User
Soldotna, Alaska
Joined Nov 2009
13 Posts
What do we do with the telemetry data collected? We can use fuel left in real time! That's good. GPS? Some times I'm not sure where I'm flying, when I'm not sure where I've been it's good to have a look see on the telemetry gizmo. Oh yea you can show your wife where you have been all day. That's good. You might be able to sell your data to NASA. YUP WE NEED IT.
swiftbill is offline Find More Posts by swiftbill
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2013, 09:26 PM
Registered User
Jacksonville Fla.
Joined Mar 2007
2,223 Posts
My my watching my every word..was that 6 years ago? things change....any reason for the attack Taurus?
I still don't time. what I was getting at is I have a watch and a timer on my transmitter if I choose to use it. I still don't see the need for telemetry.
jetmech05 is offline Find More Posts by jetmech05
Last edited by jetmech05; Apr 14, 2013 at 01:16 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2013, 01:02 AM
2 Fast 2 Low & 2 Loud
scootrb4's Avatar
United States, CA, Winchester
Joined Nov 2011
3,291 Posts
Temperature monitoring can be useful information on gas or electric. If you are engineering your own setups you should know what temps you are running.
scootrb4 is offline Find More Posts by scootrb4
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2013, 11:21 AM
Registered User
United States, TX, Weatherford
Joined Dec 2006
1,689 Posts
I have built in telemetry for receiver battery in my Aurora Tranny. Look at it prior to launch and when I get back. Beats hooking up a meter and reading the voltage. I see no other reason for the other stuff unless one wants more toys to play with.
Chip01 is offline Find More Posts by Chip01
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 22, 2013, 06:38 PM
Horizon Hobby Employee
Joined Dec 2012
34 Posts
For all the telemetry bashing, here's a positive opinion:

I use telemetry to monitor engine temps and RPMs. While this is not essential (some would say luxury), I do find that it is very helpful in the initial stages of setting an airplane up as well as keeping an eye on the health of an engine.

By monitoring the temps you can tell if the engine is overheating or if you need to add baffling to increase cooling. By monitoring the RPMs, you can tell if your engine is over-lean or over-rich. In addition to monitoring the engine it is just one more safety factor when you aren't sticking your hands with a tach close to the spinning prop.

And yes, it is true that a lot of people could care less about these uses, for some these are not optional.

Just my two cents.

Jimmy
jspauld2 is offline Find More Posts by jspauld2
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Is this really a Mirage?........It needs a new name...Ideas? hog2soar Sailplane Talk 42 Feb 02, 2013 06:05 PM
Discussion Will clubs really do this? mkranitz Other Websites 4 Jan 25, 2013 01:22 AM
Discussion Need a Really Large Swashplate harryinhbg Large Electric Helis 1 Jan 18, 2013 12:38 PM
Discussion What do Tea Party Republicans really want? Broken Wings Life, The Universe, and Politics 93 Jan 06, 2013 04:40 PM
Discussion Jazz Programming Card - What do you really need to do?? GBR2 Kontronik 2 May 04, 2009 03:03 PM