SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Jan 30, 2013, 05:03 PM
United States, TN, Knoxville
Joined Oct 2012
28 Posts
Discussion
Indoor Micro Old Fogey

I'm new to RC and newly retired and been reading like crazy here and flite test to learn. Joined AMA and local RC group. Bought a DX 6i, bought a Bixler and HK 109 and then discovered $ Tree building. Decided to learn to fly on home-built and low cost planes first. Built a Nut Ball, Baby Bixler and 2 Old Fogey's.

I really like the Old Fogey shown on flite test so I built one and waiting for good weather to maiden. Decided to build something for indoor flying and realized a 50% Old Fogey might be it.
Lynnsabcs is online now Find More Posts by Lynnsabcs
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 30, 2013, 05:16 PM
Joined Oct 2012
28 Posts
The finished Half-a-Old Fogey has a wingspan of 18 1/2" and length is 15 1'2". I don't have a gram scale, but on a mechanical postal scale the fuse and wing weighs 2 oz (57 g.).

I want the slow-flying capabilities of the plane to fly indoor. I have installed 2 HXT 500 servos staggered because the inside width of the fuse behind the wing is only 3/4". I managed to widen this to 1 1/4" using servo trays.

I plan on using a HK orange receiver.

What I need is some expert help in selecting a motor. I hope to fly on a 2 cell. A Nanotech 2s 300mah battery give a total weight of 3 .5 oz (99.2 gs.). HobbyKing lists the Turnigy 1811 brushless 2000 kv for a 150 g indoor flyer. Will mount to a ply firewall and use a 10 amp Red Brick esc so I should be under the total wgt.

I've only flown twice on a Buddy Box on a Bixler, but both flites were fine. Been flying Phoenix 4 this Winter and getting ready to solo.

Is motor and battery size OK for slow flight indoors or do I need to go bigger?

Thanks for your help.

Lynn
Old Jan 30, 2013, 05:32 PM
United Kingdom, England, Redcar
Joined Jan 2006
3,268 Posts