HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jan 29, 2013, 04:06 PM
Joined Jan 2013
29 Posts
Discussion
Newbie/Brushless Mini CP Questions

Hey guys, I'm relatively new to helis and I have a few questions. My experience is limited but I spent years building battlebots and I have a solid base of knowledge in radio control. I started flying with the V911 and a Double Horse 9116, both of which I feel very comfortable and confident with. I recently sprung for the Walkera Mini CP with the Devo7E and it's set to arrive today. I purchased 3 sets of main blades, 2 extra batteries, a spare tail set and tail rotor, as well as an extra canopy. Are there any other spares I should stock up on such as servos, landing gear, or any linkages? Will I need to level the swash before my first flight? And how do I crash "gracefully" with the Mini? My V911 likes to have the throttle dropped to the floor while my 9116 falls much softer if I gun it and somewhat flare up shortly before an unplanned landing.

I've also decided to go ahead and order a brushless upgrade. The price is reasonable, I love tinkering, and I know the extra power will help when the time comes to learn 3D flight. It seems the best deal without any soldering involved is the Brushless Conversion + XP-7A esc Combo and C05M/ADH50 Outrunner Brushless Motor KV13000 from chinesejade along with the 64T main gear, 8T and 9T pinions. Does this setup sound alright? I like the thought of multiple setup options with both pinion and main gears. What batteries pair nicely with the 13000KV C05M?

I understand the steep learning curve that comes with CP helis and I'm excited to really challenge myself. I love being back in a hobby that requires constant research and tinkering. So much to learn, and I already have plenty of questions. Any help is much appreciated.
ajohnson677 is offline Find More Posts by ajohnson677
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 29, 2013, 04:48 PM
FPV Noob KD0VMK
United States, MO, Platte City
Joined Jun 2012