HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jan 29, 2013, 02:47 AM
Joined Jan 2013
2 Posts
Discussion
New builder questions

I am new to RC. I am building a Balsa USA Stick 40 Plus trainer and have a few questions.
1. I know balsa is strong for its weight, but would the fixed parts of the rudder and elevator benefit from triangulation provided by the addition of wires between them as I see on many real planes?
2. The main wing is meant to be held on with rubber bands. In theory, this allows for the wing and fuselage to separate in a crash and minimize damage. Is this really likely to work? Does the wing ever shift during flight? Would it not be better off bolted on?
3. Iíve certainly heard of planes being flown into trees, but how often are planes completely lost? Would it be a good investment to buy one of those new GPS locators?
BrianDixon is offline Find More Posts by BrianDixon
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 29, 2013, 04:07 AM
Australia, WA, Kalgoorlie
Joined Apr 2011
1,402 Posts
Brian, welcome to RCG!

First of all, let me say that I'm not familiar with the BUSA Stik trainer, so my comments are generic:

1. Most models of that ilk use a balsa truss design for the horizontal and vertical stabilisers. When covered with film, those are usually plenty strong enough. There's nothing to prevent you from fitting wire braces though, as long as you insert hard points in the stabilisers to attach them to.

2. The rubber band idea actually works as advertised, saving you some repair time on the fuselage or wings after those not-so-perfect landings (not that you'd be having any of those, eh?). It scores lower in the aesthetics department than bolt-on wings, but is actually a good idea on a primary trainer.