HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jan 28, 2013, 06:11 PM
Joined Jan 2013
5 Posts
Discussion
Product Idea

I am a student on a design team to make a process for quickly making new wings for gliders. I would love any input that anyone would be willing to give.

The idea is to make a vacuum-molding process that will quickly make wings out of thin wooden veneers by epoxying veneers together and then vacuum molding them into a female mold.

What are your thoughts? If this idea works, and if you could buy a mold for a very low cost, would you be interested? Would you scrap the idea and only go with composites molded from a very expensive mold?

I appreciate the help and will let you know how the project goes.

Thank you,
bradygarn
bradygarn is offline Find More Posts by bradygarn
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 28, 2013, 07:29 PM
Evolution is a way of life !!
gold coast australia
Joined Aug 2008
4,794 Posts
Hi brad.

A few of us build. Composite planes using vaneer as part of the lay up. As one of my best friends has been in the vaneer industry for a long time.
That process will work , although depending on the type if wing build. It doesn't like going around curves very well.
The problem is crash resistance. It shatters with out using composite fibers with it.
I've personally been down the road of plastics..and polycarbonate.... They work very well and are strong. BUT. On the down side once damaged are very hard to repair .
Also there are so many spray plastic and polymers around these days , I've spend million of hours over the last 5 years toying with idea's. Plastic Rotor molding also interests me also.
As all of these thing take a lot of time and money chasing the right product of technique.
Solid core structures are the best by far for strength. Depending on what type if plane you are referring to will depend on the TYPE of build you need.

What are you going to build ???

Tim
Composite structures do break , but are easily repaired in a lot of cases.