Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Jan 27, 2013, 07:43 AM
Joined Mar 2011
400 Posts
Build Log
My First Kit Build Contender build

Ok So ive built a few ARFs both regular size and giant size. So I decided to take the plunge and build a kit. So i searched around and told my gf to get my a Top flite contender for xmas. Well i got it and ordered everything to build it.

I finally have a weekend to start the build. Alot of new stuff and alot a learning involved till i got the hang of things. I had a friend come over and help me build it. We got the rear Stab and elevators built. And we built the ailerons as well. Heres some pics of what we have so far. If anyone has any tips please feel free to share with me, since im a noob
chaos2984 is offline Find More Posts by chaos2984
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 27, 2013, 07:46 AM
ARFs Are Me
Traverse City, Michigan
Joined Dec 2005
11,305 Posts
Welcome to the world of building I I hope that you find it a pleasurable experience.

I glued my first sticks together back in the late '50s. I still enjoy the process today.
TomCrump is offline Find More Posts by TomCrump
Old Jan 27, 2013, 08:43 AM
An itch?. Scratch build.
South Wales U.K.
Joined Mar 2003
13,034 Posts
I found this thread if it help - Top Flite Contender conversion

It's from the Glow to Electric Conversions forum. (I did notice you started a thread in the - Electric Warbirds forum, so assume it will be electrified).
eflightray is offline Find More Posts by eflightray
Old Jan 27, 2013, 10:47 AM
Joined Mar 2011
400 Posts
yea that and I didnt know where exactly to post this at. Then i found the building thread. But yea i want to make it electric. I read alot on converting it and dont think it will be a big issue to do so. But yea its fun.

I had a little problem with one of the ailerons. I kept getting twist in it. I had to fix it several times to get it straight enough. Im going to start on the wings today.
Old Jan 27, 2013, 01:52 PM
Wilson NC 27896
Joined Apr 2009