HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jan 26, 2013, 07:11 PM
Push limits and rebuild
tymbo's Avatar
United States, KY, Louisville
Joined Jan 2012
102 Posts
Help!
*Update* -NO GPS SIGNAL on g-osd No video*fixed - PICS of wiring diagram and set up.

Ok, I need some help from you guys. This is my first set up and I have exhausted all other options. Will you guys look at my diagram to see if my wiring is correct?





I am using the ImmesionRC 600mW Tx.
Fatshark Dominators with the 5.8 module.

I think I am on the correct channel. I tested out all the channels. Question about switching channels, how long does it take before you get a picture when you switch channels?

I am using the cheap 16.99 hobbyking camera. I know they had an issue with the power and video wire being reversed, I have already taken care of this issue. Another question is, can I run my camera off of the power from the Tx even though it is 5v. I watched a video on youtube and thats what they were doing.

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...mera_PAL_.html

I can't seen to get video and it has been a frustrating day for sure. Thanks for any help
tymbo is offline Find More Posts by tymbo
Last edited by tymbo; Jan 28, 2013 at 07:36 PM.
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 26, 2013, 07:36 PM
Registered User
1fullbird's Avatar
United States, NE, Omaha
Joined Nov 2011
1,247 Posts
Your diagram should work. However, looking at your components are you running two JST plugs from the battery to power camera and the Tx? Your link to HK shows a 12 volt camera (input 9 to 12.6)--so 5V won't work. Once you get the correct channel it should show almost instantly.
1fullbird is offline Find More Posts by 1fullbird
Last edited by 1fullbird; Jan 26, 2013 at 07:42 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 26, 2013, 07:52 PM
Registered User
Daemon's Avatar
Lakewood, Colorado
Joined Aug 2002
29,090 Posts
Diagram looks correct for single battery setup.
If you're really using two batteries instead of one as your pic shows two JSTs,
then you've got a ground loop in your real wiring, but it should still work fine.

ian
Daemon is offline Find More Posts by Daemon
RCG Plus Member
Old Jan 26, 2013, 08:44 PM
Push limits and rebuild
tymbo's Avatar
United States, KY, Louisville
Joined Jan 2012
102 Posts
I have both plugs going into one plug for power. Do I need the ground that is coming from the tx? Is there a trick or something I may have missed with installing the rx in my dominators? I haven't powered anything up without a antenna.
tymbo is offline Find More Posts by tymbo
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 26, 2013, 08:58 PM
Registered User
Daemon's Avatar
Lakewood, Colorado
Joined Aug 2002
29,090 Posts
The diagram is correct. If that's how you have it wired, that is not the problem.
No way for us to know if you've installed the Rx correctly in the goggles. Have you
switched them to the Rx input mode?

ian
Daemon is offline Find More Posts by Daemon
RCG Plus Member
Old Jan 26, 2013, 09:01 PM
Push limits and rebuild
tymbo's Avatar
United States, KY, Louisville
Joined Jan 2012
102 Posts
I thought it was auto select on the physical goggle. So is there a way to change the input on the goggles?
tymbo is offline Find More Posts by tymbo
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 26, 2013, 09:02 PM
Push limits and rebuild
tymbo's Avatar
United States, KY, Louisville
Joined Jan 2012
102 Posts
Also thanks for all the help too, keep any ideas coming.
tymbo is offline Find More Posts by tymbo
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 26, 2013, 09:40 PM
Registered User
Daemon's Avatar
Lakewood, Colorado
Joined Aug 2002
29,090 Posts
There's an Rx power switch on the goggles.
Daemon is offline Find More Posts by Daemon
RCG Plus Member
Old Jan 26, 2013, 09:55 PM
Push limits and rebuild
tymbo's Avatar
United States, KY, Louisville
Joined Jan 2012
102 Posts
So the goggles can be on and the rx installed and not be getting a signal?
tymbo is offline Find More Posts by tymbo
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 26, 2013, 10:07 PM
Registered User
Daemon's Avatar
Lakewood, Colorado
Joined Aug 2002
29,090 Posts
Yes. There is a switch on the goggles to turn the Rf module on.
Daemon is offline Find More Posts by Daemon
RCG Plus Member
Old Jan 26, 2013, 10:22 PM
Push limits and rebuild
tymbo's Avatar
United States, KY, Louisville
Joined Jan 2012
102 Posts
Well there's my issue I think. Where is that switch.
tymbo is offline Find More Posts by tymbo
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 26, 2013, 10:41 PM
Registered User
Daemon's Avatar
Lakewood, Colorado
Joined Aug 2002
29,090 Posts
In the manual. Switch on the bottom near the earphone jack.
Daemon is offline Find More Posts by Daemon
RCG Plus Member
Old Jan 26, 2013, 10:58 PM
Push limits and rebuild
tymbo's Avatar
United States, KY, Louisville
Joined Jan 2012
102 Posts
Thanks I will try this tomorrow. Hopefully this fixes everything. I will let you guys know.
tymbo is offline Find More Posts by tymbo
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2013, 01:03 AM
Push limits and rebuild
tymbo's Avatar
United States, KY, Louisville
Joined Jan 2012
102 Posts
Couldn't wait to try it out. It was the rouge switch on the bottom. System works 100%. Daemon thanks for the help. I will probably be back soon when I set up the OSD.
tymbo is offline Find More Posts by tymbo
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2013, 07:36 PM
Push limits and rebuild
tymbo's Avatar
United States, KY, Louisville
Joined Jan 2012
102 Posts
I have been setting up the OSD and solved my issue with no video on the OSD. If anyone needs help with that part just shoot me a PM. Now my issue is that I have my GPS unit set up and plugged in. If someone has this unit, what pair of wires go where? Right now i have the white/black wires going to the OSD board and the red/black going to the receiver for 5.5v. I am now not getting a read out from the GPS unit. I can see all zeros on the screen and the OSD's red light is blinking. Thanks

I have this GPS unit.

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...PS_Module.html

I want to make sure that it works before I flash it.
tymbo is offline Find More Posts by tymbo
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Wiring diagram for basic quad attached, let me know if it is correct. loac1111 Multirotor Electronics 10 Jan 22, 2013 10:59 AM
Discussion Wiring Diagrams? loac1111 Multirotor Electronics 3 Jan 19, 2013 03:49 PM
Discussion Please review my FPV quad wiring diagram schott1984 FPV Talk 9 Jan 04, 2013 10:38 PM
Discussion How do I set up the keychain camera to record video-in? avt FPV Talk 7 Jan 02, 2013 04:37 PM
Discussion Trex 450 wiring and radio set up. pic Lota Fun R Mini Helis 8 Oct 29, 2007 02:44 PM