Old Jan 25, 2013, 02:30 PM
Will work for lift...
Provo, Utah
Joined Jul 2004
770 Posts
Help!
Econokote on EPP covering question

Hi,

This is my first try at covering an epp foam plane. I've strapped it, spackled it, sanded it round and then sprayed a light mist of 3M77 (I read a few posts here on how to do it).

I laid my econokote over the sprayed surface, smoothed it out and have tried the iron at different settings. No matter what I do, I get these odd vertical creases that will not come out. They form once I apply any type of heat, and the more I try to stretch and smooth, the worse they become...

I've covered many of planes in my day with monokote on balsa surfaces and have never had this kind of frustration.

Is there something I'm doing wrong?? Could it be a bad batch of econokote??

Thanks,
F/A
Flying-Addict is offline Find More Posts by Flying-Addict
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 25, 2013, 03:15 PM
gizzo don't tweet
Adelaide, Australia
Joined Jan 2008
3,050 Posts
You need to spray plane AND film with 77, then let the 77 really dry off. The adhesive will activate with heat from the iron. If you apply the film too soon, the solvent in the glue won't be able to gas off anywhere and you get wrinkles. Also,IME, the film needs firm vertical pressure but no dragging the iron sideways like you can with a woody, otherwise the film stretches, and you get wrinkles again.
My 2c,YMMV etc
gizzo is online now Find More Posts by gizzo
Old Jan 25, 2013, 03:30 PM
Will work for lift...
Provo, Utah
Joined Jul 2004
770 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by gizzo View Post
You need to spray plane AND film with 77, then let the 77 really dry off. The adhesive will activate with heat from the iron. If you apply the film too soon, the solvent in the glue won't be able to gas off anywhere and you get wrinkles. Also,IME, the film needs firm vertical pressure but no dragging the iron sideways like you can with a woody, otherwise the film stretches, and you get wrinkles again.