HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jan 22, 2013, 06:30 PM
United States, VA, Forest
Joined May 2012
24 Posts
Discussion
Transmitter Question

I'm new to FPV and fairly new to the whole RC heli world, but I have a quadcopter and I'm looking for a very simple FPV system. I've found some different ones that I might be interested in getting, but have a few questions first.

First, this is kind of a general electronic question, but would it be bad to hook a 5V transmitter up to an 11.1V LIPO battery? A transmitter like this one http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...200mW_FPV.html

Also, what are some good, fairly cheap, transmitters/receivers? What are your favorite ones to use (those of you who have messed with some)?

I have a GoPro mounted on my quad now and have been videoing some just for fun, but I'd love to test out some FPV flying (and that's why I'm trying to stay cheap since I'm just in the testing phase)
brm252 is offline Find More Posts by brm252
Last edited by brm252; Jan 23, 2013 at 11:37 AM.
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 22, 2013, 06:57 PM
Koo
A semi-advanced FPV newbie
United States, OH, Oxford
Joined Mar 2012
1,147 Posts
Lets answer couple questions.
Applying 11.1v from a 3s to a tx that uses 5v would fry it almost instantly, a bad idea. What brand of transmitter do you fly with?
Readymaderc.com and bevrc.com and in my opinion, the two best places to buy FPV gear. Rmrc is more expensive but they have great customer support. I've bought $350 worth of stuff from bev and haven't had a single problem with them. You may want to take a look at their 400mw 1.3ghz vtx/rx combo. It should be good for 1.5 miles with stock antennas and is relatively cheap. You can actually use your gopro to get live feed to the vtx as well.
I have the 800mw version of the bevrc vtx and it gave me 2 miles with the stock antennas and still works great.