HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jan 22, 2013, 10:48 AM
United Kingdom, Birmingham
Joined Jan 2013
408 Posts
Build Log
F-15 (Jetset44 ) 70mm EDF Conversion

Hi All,

I’m 43 and a year ago I started flying again after a break of 25 years - haven’t things moved on!

I have been flying electric RTF’s in the local park and have been inspired build again after reading a couple of Steve Shumate’s (jetset44) blogs on RCG.

My youngest son Corey, aged 9, is becoming a keen modeller, which is great as that’s about the age I started with free flight & control line models.

I have always fancied building a ducted fan jet and Steve’s Supper Banded really got me excited. That was until I saw his F-15, which from what I have read would be the EDF to start with.

I’m a freelance design engineer and Steve has kindly given me the go-ahead to adapt his F-15 design to suit a 68mm EDF unit.

I will be designing in 3D CAD (SolidWorks) and in a spirit of the RCG blog environment, where everyone could participate and contribute firstly to developing the design and then the build.

The basic plane –
  • Based on Steve advice and the complexities of designing for EDF I’ve started by just Blocking out a 34” version in 6mm Depron (see pics 1).
  • I will then model the all the equipment (fan(s), batteries etc.) and add them to the model to give me a good indication of packaging space, wing load, CG, overall weight etc.
  • Once the driveline has been resolved I intend to design the ducting and then design the rest of the air frame to suit.

I expect the learning curve for me to be really steep as I have had no experience in EDF model building or flying. But as Steve said “that's part of the challenge of EDFs that make them fun.”

My first question for you all –

When calculating the wing area do you base the calculation on pic 2 or pic 3?

Thanks again Jetset44 for the encouragement and support.

SteveJ
meerkat13 is online now Find More Posts by meerkat13
to remove ads between posts