HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jan 20, 2013, 11:59 PM
Balsa Lover
Vienna, Austria
Joined Jul 2010
759 Posts
Build Log
Peter Rake's 1/6 Fokker D.VII "Sieben Schwaben" built from plans

Santa got me a nice set of plans designed by Peter Rake for the 1/6 Fokker D.VII plus the needed electronic parts. Just in time for the weekend the wood arrived (laser cut at my local hobby shop) and so this build could start.

This is my first build of this size ever having built only free flight conversions of about 24" span before so i'm pretty excited. I've read and re-read Maltone's excellent build log of the prototype:
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1438691

I surely won't be able to reach his level but i'll be stealing as much information as i can to help me finish this project.
gupi is offline Find More Posts by gupi
Last edited by gupi; Oct 21, 2013 at 11:55 PM. Reason: Changed title to reflect the color scheme.
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 21, 2013, 12:24 AM
Balsa Lover
Vienna, Austria
Joined Jul 2010
759 Posts
I started by cleaning the building table completely to make room for a build that will barely fit here. The plans sure don't.

To get a feeling for a build this large i build the inner fuselage box. No surprises here, easy and quick to do. But huge compared to my regular builds like the Guillows Spitfire i'm currently converting:

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1764300

Next i wanted to see what a wing of this size looks like. I built the spars for both wings and then continued with the center section of the upper wing.

To be able to build the upper wing on the plan i printed blueprints of the wing (literally because my old large format printer refused to spit out any black) and taped them to the board covered with transparent film.
Old Jan 21, 2013, 05:21 AM
free flight or micro RC ???
Greece, Central Macedonia, Thessalonika
Joined May 2006
459 Posts
Good luck with it Gupi!

We 'll be watching...

George