HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Nov 22, 2001, 09:35 AM
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Joined Nov 2001
92 Posts
Electric Ducted Fan Design

I would like to design my own fan 3.50" fan units for a 1/8th scale
Horten IX V3 <just received the plans last weekend>. Anyone have any information that would help me in starting this project on the right foot? I am a Meachanical Engineer so I know my way around formulas. I do happen to have copies of Robert Kress' Ducted fan design programs from 10-12 years ago. I do not have a copy of his EDF version. Thanks for the help!
Jon Johnston
JonJohnston is offline Find More Posts by JonJohnston
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 22, 2001, 10:08 AM
Las Vegas, NV
Joined Dec 1996
7,921 Posts
Not to stiffle innovation, but do you know about the WeMotec line of electric ducted fans (EDFs)? They have several sizes, with rotors of diameters of 50mm, 69mm, 75mm, 89mm, 105mm, and 124mm. You can get some info on these fans at www.electricjetfactory.com. The 3.5" diameter you are looking for would be matched by the WeMotec Midi fan which has a rotor diameter or 89mm which is very close to 3.5 inches. People seem to really like this fan, it's got a fairly high quality construction.

Maybe you are looking to design a fan around a particular motor and RPM range and these wont fit the bill, but you'll probably find with research that these fans offer a wide range of capabilities. There are other 90 mm class fans out there, the Jepe and the Schubler from Europe for instance. All these are what I would call second generation fans. Earlier fans in WeMotec's range were based on the old Kress rotors with lots of pitch and thus needing very high torque motors. These newer designs have slightly less pitch which is more suitable for the high revving motors available. This is based on what I've read in electric magazines over the past several years. If I'm incorrect on some of this others will correct it.