HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
This thread is privately moderated by _world_, who may elect to delete unwanted replies.
Old Jan 20, 2013, 09:55 AM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2008
3 Posts
Trader Rating: 0
Futaba FG series

I am not sure is this the right place for this. I am looking for transmitter for Futaba FG series (golden series). Only the TX module! I prefer to be something like the original one, not some of the new 2.4 GHz that you can find on hobbyking.com
Regards
_world_ is offline Find More Posts by _world_
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 20, 2013, 10:36 AM
Registered User
United States, MO, Fenton
Joined Jan 2012
1,761 Posts
Trader Rating: 56
So you want an old FG series module? That's the big module right?
Fentonflyers is online now Find More Posts by Fentonflyers
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2013, 12:30 PM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2008
3 Posts
Trader Rating: 0
Yes, it is the big module.
_world_ is offline Find More Posts by _world_
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2013, 02:31 PM
Registered User
Corinth, MS
Joined Mar 2004
4 Posts
Trader Rating: 9
Module

I have a module Futaba FP-TF-AM channel 52. Is that what you are needing?
av8or46 is offline Find More Posts by av8or46
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 02:05 AM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2008
3 Posts
Trader Rating: 0
Exactly the same. Are there any other FM instead of AM modules available for this old transmitters?
_world_ is offline Find More Posts by _world_
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 07:56 AM
Registered User
United States, MO, Fenton
Joined Jan 2012
1,761 Posts
Trader Rating: 56
Their should be. I might use mine if I could come up with an FM module. The other option might be to use a hack 2.4 module permanantly installed in the old module case.
Fentonflyers is online now Find More Posts by Fentonflyers
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2013, 09:12 AM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2008
3 Posts
Trader Rating: 0
So my Futaba is not going to work with any of the newer modules available? I have seen the list of modules in hobyking.com and most of them are Futaba style? What does it mean? Futaba from which year?
_world_ is offline Find More Posts by _world_
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2013, 09:32 AM
UP ELEVATOR!!!! OOPS
dhsmith1's Avatar
Houston Tx.
Joined Jan 2006
92 Posts
Trader Rating: 119
I have about 20 of the old FG txs. they do use the larger modules, and
you can use either the AM or FM module. (with matching RXs)
I have a box full of modules, but I would only sell them with radios.
Smitty
dhsmith1 is offline Find More Posts by dhsmith1
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2013, 12:54 AM
Oldrndrt RCav8r
georgewaldrop's Avatar
United States, OK, Ardmore
Joined May 2009
55 Posts
Trader Rating: 26
Futaba modules in FG series Radios

Just so you know...the newer modules will work fine in the FG series radios...the pinout is identical, just the size of the module is different...you can use the old module "case" to make the newer modules fit better, or "pad" the newer module with small strips of balsa, ply, plastic or what have you, to make the fit in the transmitter case better (the newer modules are physically smaller and will not "clip" in or fit tightly in the receptacle). I have not done this long term, and I have not made the physical changes to make the newer module fit the "receptacle" better, but I HAVE installed and tested for operation and range, the newer Futaba modules in both FM and 2.4...they work great operationally.

Have a Blessed Day!
George
AMA~L1307<>IMAA~LM207
georgewaldrop is offline Find More Posts by georgewaldrop
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2013, 08:07 AM
Registered User
United States, MO, Fenton
Joined Jan 2012
1,761 Posts
Trader Rating: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by georgewaldrop View Post
Just so you know...the newer modules will work fine in the FG series radios...the pinout is identical, just the size of the module is different...you can use the old module "case" to make the newer modules fit better, or "pad" the newer module with small strips of balsa, ply, plastic or what have you, to make the fit in the transmitter case better (the newer modules are physically smaller and will not "clip" in or fit tightly in the receptacle). I have not done this long term, and I have not made the physical changes to make the newer module fit the "receptacle" better, but I HAVE installed and tested for operation and range, the newer Futaba modules in both FM and 2.4...they work great operationally.

Have a Blessed Day!
George
AMA~L1307<>IMAA~LM207
Awesome tip! Thanks!
Fentonflyers is online now Find More Posts by Fentonflyers
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
futaba FG gold series transmitter twohsieh Radios 3 Jan 30, 2005 06:24 PM
Trouble calibrating Futaba FG series and XTR ucsdgemini Simulators 0 Dec 10, 2004 05:40 PM
Futaba FG series and Elevons azfrench Radios 0 Jan 21, 2004 03:09 PM
FS: Futaba Gold Box Transmitter FG Series smrosko Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 3 Nov 11, 2003 01:42 PM
futaba FG series 6 channel Dandi6065 Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 1 Sep 26, 2001 08:12 AM