SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Jan 16, 2013, 06:58 PM
Joined Jan 2013
25 Posts
Discussion
New Blackjack 29 lipo connection question

Guys I'm a noob to the hobby. After a month of reading and learning. I order a BJ29. I ordered some Gen Ace Lipos and they come with banana plug charge lead.

I figured since the boat has EC3 plug, I can get one of these EC3 to banana plug charge lead and able to use it. But this doesn't seems to work. Turn switch on and nothing come on.

I look at the adapter cable it seems like the polarity seems to be reverse from the banana plug to the ec3 adapter. Can you guys give me some pointer please?

Battery:

Banana charge + adapter

Together

Boat innard
johnyeros is offline Find More Posts by johnyeros
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 16, 2013, 07:05 PM
New Zealand, Wellington, Porirua
Joined Jan 2013
96 Posts
Looks like your EC3 -> Banana adapter is designed to connect an EC3 battery to a banana speed control/charger. Not the other way around, hence the polarity mix up.
viperidae is offline Find More Posts by viperidae
Old Jan 16, 2013, 07:40 PM
Joined Jan 2013
25 Posts
do you know what i need to get in order to plug my battery into the esc? IF no cable exist do i just have to get a banana set of cable and then cut one end of and solder on the EC3 female connection?
Old Jan 16, 2013, 08:19 PM
Joined Jan 2013
25 Posts
I figured it out. I was using the banana cable that come with the charger..

Now I use the banana cable that come with my battery + this ec3 adapter and it work fine.

However since the battery were already tall, with the plug sticking straight up, it wont fit inside of a boat. Probably have to run the the hobby shop tomorrow to find some angle plug.

On top of that. somebody in the other forum mention it's not good to run through adapter, hard on esc/battery.

So my best bet is to just get a angle banana plug and solder on a female EC3.. Correct me if i'm wrong on this.