SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Jan 15, 2013, 02:17 PM
Registered Crasher
United States, TX, Coppell
Joined Feb 2011
2,226 Posts
Discussion
What's a good gyro setup for 3D

I'm just starting to learn 3d, but around here the wind is average 15mph and often gusty to 20mph (that's an average day, mind you).

With that in mind, I think it may be a good idea to approach learning 3D with a stabilization unit installed, at least to help me keep the wings from turning over in the wind.

What's a good 3 axis unit for 3D flying? The Eagletree 2D/3D, modified KK2, Bluelight BL3MOD?

I'm looking for something that has separate channels for AIL, for sure.

Thanks!
jtaylor996 is offline Find More Posts by jtaylor996
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 15, 2013, 02:19 PM
Irg
ol' yellow eyes is back
Brooklyn, NY
Joined Apr 2009
7,649 Posts

my favorite
Irg is online now Find More Posts by Irg
Old Jan 15, 2013, 02:23 PM
Balsa to the Wall
Deep in the East Texas Piney Woods
Joined Dec 2001
4,553 Posts
I'm thinkin' a 3D plane may not be the best place for a gyro. If you're aiming to fly 3D, that is.

Chuck
Chuck is offline Find More Posts by Chuck
Old Jan 15, 2013, 02:26 PM
Registered Crasher
Joined Feb 2011
2,226 Posts
This is your brain. This is your brain on drugs. This is your brain on 3D...
Old Jan 15, 2013, 02:29 PM
Irg
ol' yellow eyes is back
Brooklyn, NY
Joined Apr 2009
7,649 Posts
ha, well I meant this is your brain and your thumbs.

just this weekend I saw a guy struggling to get a plane flying right. kept crashing on landing. I asked him what the problem was and he said "this plane flew great until I put a gyro in it. I just don't understand!"
Irg is online now Find More Posts by Irg
Old Jan 15, 2013, 02:31 PM
Team 3DHS
United States, IN, Fort Wayne
Joined Nov 2008
1,418 Posts