HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jan 14, 2013, 05:56 PM
United States, MO, St Charles
Joined Jan 2013
131 Posts
Discussion
Looking for info related to calculations, flying, etc.

While I am still beginning to learn how to fly, I am also looking to expand my knowledge of the hobby.

I was looking at a couple of build threads here, and people were trying to determine what servo's to use (for torque) based on plane size, speed, etc. as well as other items such as size of power source, size of batteries/ESC.....

I was running some searches, trying to find info related to all of this.
I found a site that explains the batteries, ESC, what servos are and the different kinds..

I am almost looking for a beginners guide to building or assembling. Does that make sense?
Any good books, pdf's, or just over sites that have this info that I can look over for the time being?
lardo5150 is offline Find More Posts by lardo5150
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 15, 2013, 07:16 AM
An itch?. Scratch build.
South Wales U.K.
Joined Mar 2003
13,399 Posts
This Beginner Training forum has some very useful 'Sticky' threads at the top. Likewise some of the other forums may have them. They are accumulations of knowledge and advice, well looking for and worth reading.

There are so many forums here on RCGroups that it is also worth just going to the home page, (click on the transmitter icon/RCGroups link at the top of any page), and scroll down to see all the different types of model possibilities. Those different type of model may require different considerations, (calculations etc), to ensure they are successful.

Down the list, (before you reach the Boats, is the Balsa Builders forum, very good if building a kit etc, the Builders Workshop, where general 'how do I' questions are often solved. Again for the foam modeler, there is a Foam Kits, and Foam Builders, forum.
There is also a Modeling Science forum for the very technically minded.